Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Oh my god this stuff was amazing. I work with fondant lots and i used to use store bout fondant and it pricey for 1 pound of it its $10.00 that expensive. I usually spend about $2.00 on this recipe. Excuse me for my language but that how awesome this cake is. So great when i make weeding cakes.Here are a few tips: Use Gel food coloring for a really vibrant color. Don't try to color fondant black it will be really stick and messy you will end up having to throw it away. Alawys buy your black fondant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
looks easy but I've never made or used fondant before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I think in order for this recipe to work you might need to use less corn syrup. There wasn't that much consistency and i had to keep adding sugar in order to make it thicker. That coupled with a sweet cake, makes it inedible because it is too sweet. Maybe there is something you could substitute in the recipe to make it less sweet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made this strict to recipe, but I added food coloring to make it blue. I'm not sure if that caused an imbalance somewhere, but the fondant ended up either too greasy to roll or fell apart as soon as I tried to put it on the cake. It tasted great, but I'm going to stick it in the fridge overnight before trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Too greasy, too soft, hard to mold shapes. not really good for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
i give this recipe absolutely no stars... i have a customer who needs fondant without the use of gelatin, so i thought i would try this recipe again.i have made three different batches using all of your recommendations and it just won't firm up and it keeps tearing...gonna try the mmf again, hopefully it works, cake is due tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by purrplekitti
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This came out gross... Very greasy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
the worst recipe i have tried. kept tearing. so crumbly at first. then very soft but kept cracking when kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Easy to prepare and it cost less to do it yourself instead of buying the one that is already made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This fondant does not handle very well. And yes! It's very greasy. It does not have the pliability to handle covering a cake well. It does not allow you to roll it out very thinly, but its good for making on cake applicaes. And it does taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States