Roasted Cajun Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe! Very spicy as-is, so I wouldn't alter a thing. I wish they let you do halves, it'd be a 4.5 for sure. Only thing I did differently was I used about 2 tsp. dried parsley instead of the 2 Tb. fresh since I knew I wouldn't be able to use an entire bunch of fresh over the next few days. They ended up pretty oily so I might reduce the oil a bit next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! ***EDIT*** I bumped this up tp 5 stars since I've made this pretty much every week since that first time. I don't always have shallots around so I make do with an extra clove of garlic or two and a few liberal shakes (maybe 6-7) of dried, minced onion. That way, as long as I have potatoes and my spice cabinet I can whip these up as a side to anything in no time at all. I only have to bake for 30 minutes with one flip halfway through. Absolutely delicious!***another edit*** Yes, months later and again more to add. We converted this into a "grill recipe" and wanted to share since no one wants a hot oven for very long during the summer. Before you throw your meat on, crank the grill to about 400 or so and throw these on the top rack if you have on on a sturdy cookie sheet. Grill about 20 mins, flip them and finish off another 20 minutes until golden-brown. We like them this way even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Kind of played it by ear since I only made one potato--just sprinkled with a little Cajun seasoning rather than measuring individual spices,and still used the other ingredients called for (in far lesser amounts of course!) Crispy and brown on the outside, and nicely done and not mushy on the inside. One potato was perfectly done in 30 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I followed directions exactly. The aroma filled the house and I was afraid the taste would be too strong. It was perfect! My husband was very pleased, said they were the best oven potatoes he ever had. My son ate them all up also. We all thought they were great exactly as instructed to prepare them. The leftovers taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I would give this a solid 4.5. They were really great. You don't feel the heat until you've eaten a few. I cooked on 425 because I was grilling outside and didn't want to come back to a burning kitchen. Also, it only took mine about 30 minutes. I let them sit in the oven for another 10 minutes. They were crispy on the outside, smooth and creamy on the inside. YUM! *TIP* I bought a little salt and pepper jar at Walmart for less than $1, and I made a big bottle of the spices all mixed together. Now when I want to make this, I just cut up the potatoes and sprinkle my "fry spice" on them. It's MUCH easier than getting out all the different spice bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was very good. We didn't have shallots, so we substituted with half an onion and added an extra clove of garlic. We also baked them for an extra 15 minutes to get them a little crispier. My wife loved them! We'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These are really good!! I did put everything except the olive oil into a small food processor chopped it, and the added the olive oil and gave it a short whirl. I made a nice paste that stuck to the potatoes. These are little spicy but you can't stop eating them actually addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I have to admit that I ate about half of these potatoes myself because they were JUST THAT GOOD. I used a combination of red, white, and sweet potatoes and used a little less cayenne pepper. Will def. be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These were very tasty. I baked them about 15 minutes longer than requested just because I like my potatoes on the crispy side. The seasoning was just right for us and not overpowering at all. I will definitely make this again, it is going in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the all the spices EXCEPT the salt, I just added that to taste. Good side for Leftover Dog Pile. I served these with a homemade ranch dressing to dip. These were good, but I think it could use a little more somethin'-somethin'. Maybe some garlic/onion powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
The family and I loved this including the little ones. I made it a little too hot so deviate too much from the spices in the recipe. I didn't have any shallots but some green onions and used the tails of them instead. What a way to get rid of left over red potatoes and make a very tasty and spicy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States