Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I am AMAZED. I tried this recipe because I felt stuck in a vegetable rut. I wanted a veggie we don't eat often. I was wary because hubby doesn't like beets and I don't care for greens. But I tried it and it is SENSATIONAL. Hubby loved it, I loved it. The greens were the surprise hit. And felt great getting two veggies out of one. I added butter and a bit more oil because it didn't seem like enough. This was a mistake as my greens turned out a bit too oily/buttery. Perfect as is. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Not being a lover of beets, I saw something on television the other day for a roasted beet salad. I decided to go to Allrecipes.com and found this recipe and I am so glad that I did. I bought organic beets and they were in the oven just a little over one hour due to their size. I only had a dipping olive oil that had bleu cheese in it (strange, I know!) and I used that for both the roasting of the beets and the wilting of the greens. Although I was skeptical, I am so glad that I tried this recipe because I actually like beets now and both of my kids ate them up although the greens were probably more of an adult taste for them. We ate them without the additional butter or red wine vinegar, too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Saw recipe went out and got beets. I have been doing both steamed for years. This was great. I don't know why they don't sell beet greens like, chard,spinach or other greens. they are best, better than spinach..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I have made this several times and have been wanting to review it because it is so easy and delicious. The first time I made it my family wanted again the next night. We are true beet lovers because of this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annelisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I have never really liked beets, they are too "healthy tasting." But, this recipe changes everything. The greens were especially tasty. The only change I made was adding additional garlic and onions, and I choose to add vinegar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
i saw this recipe last year, and when i went to a farmers market this weekend, i specifically got beets to make this. my boyfriend gave it rave reviews. neither of us had ever had beets this way, nor the greens. i followed the recipe as written. the beets came out very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
These were wonderful! We had the "greens" and the beets with tonight's dinner and the contrasting flavors was AMAZING! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum. My husband hates beets and I have never had them fresh. Decided to give this a shot and...YUM! Even my two year old ate the beets and the greens and loved them. Great recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These were great. There weren't a lot of beet greens with the beets I bought earlier in the week, but I'll be sure to look for some with lots of greens next time! My beets took an hour- I also roasted some sweet potatoes and red onion wedges with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Beets are coming into the garden, and was looking for something new to do with them. Recipe is great, and I didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States