Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I didn't think I liked beets, but I've changed my mind after I got some homegrown beets from a friend and found this recipe. I nuked them until soft and then peeled them once they cooled down a bit. The stained fingers are well worth this delicious dish. I will be looking for fresh beets next time at the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
only had 2 lg beets and they baked forever,and still didn't get soft. So I peeled them and used bok choy for the greens,as they came without tops.Hubs n I enjoyed these, but I think fresh beets are too messy to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I bought some fresh beets today for another recipe but wanted a way to use the greens. THis recipe was EXACTLY the right choice! They were AMAZING! I made them exactly as written and just sprinkled some S&P on them when they were finished. So good! I agree with another reviewer..they really should sell these like they do other greens. I think they are better than spinach, and I LOVE spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
What a great way to use the whole beet! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I had never tried beets before, or the beet greens. I am not really a cook at all, so I can't say that I've ever even sauteed something. That said, I followed this and the beets and greens came out lovely! I was particularly happy with the greens. I used a corningware style baking dish with a glass lid, and it took a little longer to cook. I put things in for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I searched for a recipe using the greens as I do not like them in a salad. They were terrific sauteed - even my 4 and 6 year old kids asked for seconds. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Ever since I can remember, I've hated the pickled beets my dad always orders at the diner. When my CSA share included beets last week, I didn't know what to do with them. I took the plunge today, and I can't believe I've been missing out on something so yummy! Definitely give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
It doesn't help that I'm not a real big beet fan unless they're pickled just right, but I did not care for the beet greens. I won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This can be done with no oil or butter. Otherwise a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These beets were delicious right out of the oven. I sliced a few and ate them as is and cubed a few, sprinkled with crumbled goat cheese and toasted walnuts. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States