Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was delicious with all the alterations offered by reviewers. I made the following suggestions based upon all the reviews: *cooked on rack to have crispy bottom *added quartered potatoes (skin on) and baby carrots to the bottom of pan with some salt and pepper *baked chicken at 350 degrees for about 2.5 hours *really stuffed cavity full with rosemary, kosher salt, garlic cloves, lemon halves and onion quarters *Rubbed outside with olive oil *sprinkled outside with rosemary garlic, and fresh ground pepper *dumped can of chicken stock in the pan with vegetables Sounds like a lot of work, but I was able to get it into the oven in 15 minutes and wow did it smell incredible! Served with some Chardonney and fresh tomatoes. Enjoy! My kids and husband sure did. I only wish I would have made an extra one at same time to have for salads, quesadillas, etc. this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I combined this recipe with another one from AllRecipes for lemon chicken. I added the rosemary and onion, but then also rubbed the bird with olive oil, a lot of salt, and the juice from one lemon. The lemon halves then went inside with the rosemary and onion and I added a clove of garlic (will add more next time). I poured a cup of water over it and roasted it for 2 1/2 hours at 300 and it was amazing. It was my first time ever cooking a whole chicken and everyone was super impressed. Best to keep the drippings as thats where most of the flavor is. Amazing once poured over top of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
584 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I have enjoyed cooking for a many years & this was by far the best chicken that has ever come out of my oven. I mixed a tablespoon or so of olive oil w/ crushed garlic, rosemary, paparika & lemon juice and rubbed it under the skin. Follow the 20min. per pound rule and the most important rule of letting it sit for 15min or so after you've pulled out of the oven and success is as easy as that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I made this twice in the past two weeks - it's astonishing how little work will yield such amazing results! After reading the reviews, I did the following: brined the chicken beforehand (you can find information on that under allrecipes advice), stuffed the cavity with an onion, some rosemary, several cloves of garlic, and two lemon halves (i reserved the juice to pour over the chicken). I put the chicken on top of a bed of veggies (potatoes, carrots, brussel sprouts), seasoned with salt, pepper, and the reserved lemon juice, and drizzled it with a little olive oil. I poured a little water into the pan, popped it in for 2.5 hours at 350 degrees. I made three at once yesterday night for guests - I literally had people standing over the carcasses to pick off microscopic pieces of chicken. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is a good base for rosemary chicken. It was delicious and tender but i also rubbed rosemary and a table spoon of butter underneath the skin, squeezed some lemon from a whole lemon on top, took the advice of another and stuffed as many lemon wedges (with the onion and rosemary) in the cavity as possible, and also stuffed some garlic in there. Poured vegetable broth over it, and added some carrots and celery in the pan. It was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Wow. This roast chicken was awesome! I slipped some butter and fresh rosemary under the skin especially around the breast and thighs. I rubbed olive oil over the chicken, squeezed one lemon over it and then used a little garlic salt and fresh ground pepper. I stuffed some fresh rosemary, a few cloves of smashed garlic, the quartered onion,the lemon halves and some sea salt in the cavity. Lastly I poured a can of chicken broth over the bird and popped her in the oven for about 2 hours while basting every so often. My husband and in-laws were very impressed and thought it was so moist, tasty and delicious. Definately making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makanani Cobb-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This makes a fantastic dinner! I put carrots & quartered potatos in the pan around the chicken and poured a little chicken broth over them. This was an awesome one pot meal. I cooked mine in a covered roating pan and uncovered it for the last 30 minutes or so. I also rubbed the skin with a little olive oil. The chicken was golden brown. The meat and veggies had a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This is a really valuable recipe. I've made variations of this many times, sometimes using tarragon or thyme instead of rosemary. No matter what herb I decide to use, the technique of this recipe ensures perfect results every time. Stuffing the cavity is the key - in addition to a quartered onion, as many slices of lemon as you can fit in make all the difference between a pretty good roast chicken and one that is moist, tender, flavourful and covered in a crisp, golden skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This was very simple and very good. I also added a garlic clove cut in half to the chicken cavity. When I roast chickens I always make 2 (for leftvoer recipes)and the recipe doubled very nicely. After dinner we removed all the meat and put the 2 carcasses in a pot and made stock. If you do this....try to remove as much rosemary as possible before adding carcasses. The rosemary can be very overpowering! I made a couple of dishes using the meat and stock as leftovers and they were very tasty. Another time I made this I used cut up chicken and simply sprinkled the rosemary over and chopped the onion and added it all to a big baking dish, with some chopped garlic and about a cup of stock. I covered and baked for about 30 minutes at 350 then uncovered and finished baking for about 30 mintues until done...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Excellent! Not the least bit dry. I too used a little olive oil on the skin before baking. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States