Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just love this recipe! I've been making roast chicken so often now--who knew something this tasty could be so easy! I took suggestions of other reviewers and prepare mine this way: rinse out chicken and cover in olive oil, salt and pepper. Squeeze lemon juice from 1 to 1.5 lemons (depending on how lemony you want it) over body and then stuff body cavity with the lemon halves and 1 whole small onion chopped and then about 3-4 sprigs of fresh rosemary (coarsely chopped to release more flavor). I then bake the chicken at 400 (so it doesn't take as long) for around 2 hours--this is especially important to use higher heat because I've been using chickens that are 5-6 lbs., not just 3 lbs. The chicken is ALWAYS moist--I don't add extra water to the baking dish--I did this once and not necessary. The lemons and onion inside keep it moist and juicy. For a slight Asian flavor, a variation I did was to stuff the body with minced garlic, 2 limes, and a whole onion, then season the body outside with garlic powder, salt, pepper, soy sauce and a bottled ginger/garlic salad dressing. Yummy! If youre chicken comes with giblets, I make gravy, too...combine pan drippings from roasting the chicken with rinsed giblets in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Strain out and discard giblets and any solids, then whisk in about 1/4 cup milk, 2 TBs flour, and 2 TB's butter--I then season with parsley flakes, and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious! Very moist, the house smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I'm a rotisserie chicken lover usually, but this turned out really good. Even though, I applied other reviewers advice by brining and using additional ingredients and herbs, the rosemary stood out pleasantly. I would definitely use this recipe again, whenever I make roast chicken, mostly because the vegetables underneath the rack turned out so fabulous! I read someones review that they salted baby carrots and potato quarters and roasted that on the bottom of the pan with chicken stock... I did this as well but added fresh brussel sprouts and crushed sage leaves... never had brussel sprouts tasted so good!!! (5 star veggies for sure!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and just have to say by far it's the tastiest roast chicken I ever made and so simple yet very good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This came out beautifully, very juicy and tender with fantastic flavor. I gave the chicken a bit of a rub with fresh lemon juice, butter, salt and pepper, and also stuffed some lemon wedges and garlic in with the rosemary and onion. Served most recently to my mother-in-law, who went back for thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
It was excellent. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
JUICY & DELICIOUS! I love the flavor the rosemary added to the chicken. I made no changes to the recipe but I did roast it in my Pampered Chef clay baker with lid. Tender and juicy. Thank you LILQUIZ for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've made this several times and it is so delicious! I put half a lemon, quartered onion and crushed garlic inside the cavity. Then on the outside I rub olive oil and lemon juice all over the chicken, and sprinkle salt, ground pepper and rosemary. Make sure to let the chicken rest for 10-15 min after cooking or you'll lose the juices when carving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I love this recipe. This was my first roasted chicken and it was a hit. The store ran out of fresh rosemary so I had to use dried rosemary on the outside of the chicken. I stuffed the cavity with onion and garlic. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This chicken was really good, but I did add chicken broth and I had to keep basting it so it wouldn't get to dry (the first time I made it, it was dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States