Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I also rubbed the inside and out and seasoned with garlic pepper and seasoning salt. I added an old apple to help keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used some rosemary from my little herb garden and with the edits AbeLincoln offered, the chicken came out ready to fall off the bone! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Delicious! I had no sprigs of rosemary, so I stuffed the chicken with 1/2 of a large red onion (cut in wedges) and 3 pressed cloves of garlic. I did not want to get my roasting pan out of storage, so I roasted the chicken on top of a bed of red potatoes in stoneware 9x12 pan. THe chicken covered the potatoes and the results but great! But next time I will salt and pepper the potatoes before roasting. I set this up in less than 20 minutes, popped it in the oven, went to soccer practice, and came home to a wonderful aroma and a succulent main course. My chicken weighed about 5.3 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Adding a quartered lemon to the cavity definitely adds to the flavor and prevents drying. Also, roast breast side DOWN for the first 1 1/2 hours then turn, so as to avoid overcooking the white meet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I also followed many of the recommendations by stuffing the bird with rosemary, onions, lemon and 4 garlic cloves. I rubbed the outside with olive oil and fresh lemon juice and seasoned with salt and pepper and fresh chopped rosemary. It turned out very juicy and had tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I stuffed the bird with half of a lemon, onion and rosemary. Rubbed the outside it with Olive Oil and seasoned it inside and out with salt, white pepper, garlic, and rubbed skin with the fresh chopped Rosemary. I cooked it as directed and it came out beautifully. The whole house smelled wonderful. The chicken was juicy and flavorful. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
We also stuffed this with lemon wedges, onion wedges, garlic cloves, and rosemary, and slathered it with olive oil, crushed garlic, and rosemary, put chunks of potato, parsnip, and carrots beneath it, and poured chicken stock over it, baking it for 1 and 1/2 hours. The skin was crisp and flavorful, the chicken was moist and delicious, and the potatoes, etc, were done perfectly. An amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was scrumptious, simple, earthy and oh so homey. THe carrots and spuds I made with it, baked in the salty, peppery chicken fat were oh so vegetable heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterkookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have to give this five stars because it provided the inspiration for one of the best meals I have ever made. I washed the chicken and dried it well(a necessity to get that wonderful crispy skin), salted and peppered the cavity and the chicken very liberally, stuffed the cavity with a lemon cut in half and a generous amount of garlic in addition to the onion and rosemary. I mixed some minced rosemary and garlic with softened butter and rubbed it underneath the chicken skin. I tossed some cut up red skin potatoes, baby carrots and quartered onions with olive oil, garlic and minced rosemary and put it all around the chicken. I cooked it at 400 for about an hour and 45 minutes(5 lb chicken) and it was sooooo delicious. Everyone in my family loved it and they are all begging me to make it again soon. The chicken was flavorful, juicy and delicious and the veggies were perfectly cooked and incredibly yummy as well. This is the perfect meal for a fall evening; I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good as written. Second time I made it, I stuffed cavity with several springs of rosemary (much easier than chopping) and put a couple of tablespoons of butter under chicken skin on breast and spritzed skin with olive oil. Came out moist with crispy skin. (I used a 4 pound chicken and cooked for about 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States