Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
THis has become a favorite at our house with a few adjustments based on reviews. Stuffed chicken with a couple cloves of garlic, a quarterd lemon and half an onion. Rubbed skin and under skin with a kosher salt/herbs de provence/pepper mixture. Baked it on a rack UPSIDEDOWN with breast down allowing all the yummy dark meat juices to moisten the meat and keep skin crisp. The best roast chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The chicken turned out moist. I was afraid it would be a bit bland, so I stuffed some fresh rosemary under the skin of the chicken, and seasoned the outside of the bird with some olive oil and seasoning. I don't recall how much time it took to cook it - as I used a meat thermometer to monitor... I do know was done before the recommended cooking time in the recipe. Per another user's recommendation I roasted the chicken on a bed of potatoes, carrots, onion and chicken stock. Everything cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Easy to do but I didn't taste any onion or rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Best chicken I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janajhoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Outstanding chicken! Very easy to make - like others suggested - I stuffed onion, lemon, garlic, salt, and rosemary into the cavity and rubbed olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary onto the skin. Meant to put breast side down but forgot - even still it was super moist! Next time (breast down) it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERSTANG281

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and so easy to prepare. Also a lot of bang for the buck as it's fairly inexpensive. I also put rosemary and lemon jc. directly under the skin in addition to stuffing the cavity. Just took my Thanksgiving turkey out of the oven and sorry that I did not prepare it by using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzy cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great Recipe, Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is a great alternative to my usual butter and poultry seasoning massaged roast chicken. It has healthier taste using olive oil instead of butter. I also add cloves of garlic in the cavity but I haven't tried it with lemons like other reviews mention. Tastes great - I've made it twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very moist, not a whole lot of flavor to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Followed the main review, except for adding the lemons, as we didn't have any on hand. Delicious. For a 5lb chicken should have cooked it for 1 1/2hrs, as the internal thermometer went off, but we kept cooking it to keep with the recipe directions. The meat was dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States