Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used all of the suggestions provided by readers -- it came out delicious and moist! This is the only way to cook decent chicken in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
i rated this a 2 only because of all the additions i had to make. as is, its barely even a recipe. i used a 7lb chicken. i stuffed butter and garlic under the skin, and rubbed the outside with olive oil. i seasoned the inside and outside with salt, pepper, and dried thyme. i stuffed the cavity with a quartered lemon, fresh rosemary sprigs, garlic, chopped celery, and a quartered onion. i poured 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of dry white wine into the roasting pan. roasted for about 2 hours and 45 min on 350, then 15 more min on 450 to brown the skin. basted every 20 minutes. i ended up having to add another 2 cups of broth so it didnt cook dry. fried up some bacon and sauteed portobello mushrooms and onions. let chicken sit 15 min after removing from oven! when the chicken was done, i mixed up 2tbs of cornstarch with COLD water, and then added 2 cups of the chicken drippings from the pan. cooked on med heat until it made a nice gravy. thin with water if necessary. added crumbled bacon to the gravy. served chicken sliced with mushroom/onion mixture on top and a spoonful of gravy over that. the breast meat was extremely moist, and the gravy was very flavorful. if you follow the recipe as is, you get a chicken that smells good while cooking, but is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I was afraid the chicken wouldn't crisp up because it didn't require any fat being rubbed on the chicken the way most recipes would.But I was trying to cook low fat for my husband. In spite all my fears, it turned out crisp and juicy,and with less calories.This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mz Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Perfect just as it is. There is no need to make it complicated. Follow this simple recipe and enjoy and wonderfully moist and flavorful chicken. It's a keeper, everyone in our family requests it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
THis has become a favorite at our house with a few adjustments based on reviews. Stuffed chicken with a couple cloves of garlic, a quarterd lemon and half an onion. Rubbed skin and under skin with a kosher salt/herbs de provence/pepper mixture. Baked it on a rack UPSIDEDOWN with breast down allowing all the yummy dark meat juices to moisten the meat and keep skin crisp. The best roast chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The chicken turned out moist. I was afraid it would be a bit bland, so I stuffed some fresh rosemary under the skin of the chicken, and seasoned the outside of the bird with some olive oil and seasoning. I don't recall how much time it took to cook it - as I used a meat thermometer to monitor... I do know was done before the recommended cooking time in the recipe. Per another user's recommendation I roasted the chicken on a bed of potatoes, carrots, onion and chicken stock. Everything cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Easy to do but I didn't taste any onion or rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Best chicken I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janajhoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Outstanding chicken! Very easy to make - like others suggested - I stuffed onion, lemon, garlic, salt, and rosemary into the cavity and rubbed olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary onto the skin. Meant to put breast side down but forgot - even still it was super moist! Next time (breast down) it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERSTANG281

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and so easy to prepare. Also a lot of bang for the buck as it's fairly inexpensive. I also put rosemary and lemon jc. directly under the skin in addition to stuffing the cavity. Just took my Thanksgiving turkey out of the oven and sorry that I did not prepare it by using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzy cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States