Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good! I minced garlic and rosemary and added lemon juice, lemon zest, olive oil, salt and pepper then rubbed this all over the meat (under the skin) and saved a little to rub over the skiin. I also cut a lemon in half and placed it in the cavity along with some rosemary sprigs and about 6 garlic cloves. Very tasty. Roasted a 5 1/2 pound chicken for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Fantastic. Followed others advice as well, my 5.5 lb chicken took the full 2.5 hours to cook to 160 (which is done at our house). I made a gravy while my bird rested. For gravy, pour out the chicken broth and juices. Extract approx 2 tbls of the fat from the top. Add to 2 tbls of flour. Cook for 1 min. Add 1 cup room temp milk or cream. Thicken over heat for five min. Add 1 cup of the broth chicken juice mixture. Salt and pepper to taste. And a dollop of daisy! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
AMAZING! I've recently discovered a love for roasting whole chickens. My husband and I have been known to devour half a chicken in one sitting! I think this is our favorite recipe so far. I sprinkled the juice of 1/2 lemon over the chicken, then placed the other 1/2 lemon in the cavity along with the onion and rosemary. I then drizzled the outside with some olive oil and rubbed generously with kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. I also saved some of the rosemary to rub on the outside. It took about 2 hours for my 3.5 lb bird to get done and it was worth the wait. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great base recipe! There are a zillion variations (I once stuffed the bird with an apple and another time with celery) but I always coat the bird in butter (under and over the skin) and I always roast breast side down to make the breast meat juicier. Sometimes I add veggies to the roasting pan, sometimes I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I followed advice of other reviewers and rubbed bird with olive oil, then rubbed with salt and pepper and rosemary. I also brushed with melted butter....next time maybe just do the butter. I stuffed cavity with mixture of salt, rosemary, onion, lemon, garlic, and a sprig of thyme. Next time may try barefoot contessa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Great recipe....I only had lemon pepper marinade on hand, so I used that instead, with all the other ingredients. The chicken lasted all week long and was as good today as it was on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and it was great. As suggested by one reviewer, I wrapped the chicken in plastic wrap and refrigerated it overnight. The chicken was extremely tender delicious, and moist. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
To aid in browning and to help keep the chicken moist I rubbed it all over with butter before it went into the oven. I also gave it a brief, high heat blast at 450* for about 20 minutes, then finished it at 350*. Made a delicious pan gravy with the drippings, chicken broth and a little white wine, reduced till it thickened. As the submitter indicated, cooking time will vary depending on the size of the chicken. To be on the safe side, invest in a meat thermometer - when the chicken is properly cooked it should register 170* at the thickest part of the thigh and the juices run clear, not pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Delicious, moist, worth making again. I used a 5.5 lb chicken, so I roasted it a while longer. I also stuffed the cavity with lemon wedges, crushed garlic cloves, rosemary, thyme, and sage (all fresh), rubbed the skin (and under it) with a mixture of olive oil, grated garlic, and chopped rosemary and thyme. I wrapped the chicken in plastic wrap and refrigerated it overnight. So tasty! Thanks for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
The whole house smelled fantastic and this also tasted great. I roasted the chicken on a rack in a pan filled with onion, potato, carrots and garlic marinated according to AR roast vegetable recipe. The drippings from the chicken mixed in with the veggies. Great meal for company or just us, easy prep, easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States