Roast Chicken with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was delicious! The only thing I did different was to separate the skin from the chicken and rub olive oil directly on the meat under the skin as well as on the outside. I saw this on a cooking show once. I cooked it in a covered roasting pan. Serve with roasted red potatoes and pan grilled asparagus. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just love this recipe! I've been making roast chicken so often now--who knew something this tasty could be so easy! I took suggestions of other reviewers and prepare mine this way: rinse out chicken and cover in olive oil, salt and pepper. Squeeze lemon juice from 1 to 1.5 lemons (depending on how lemony you want it) over body and then stuff body cavity with the lemon halves and 1 whole small onion chopped and then about 3-4 sprigs of fresh rosemary (coarsely chopped to release more flavor). I then bake the chicken at 400 (so it doesn't take as long) for around 2 hours--this is especially important to use higher heat because I've been using chickens that are 5-6 lbs., not just 3 lbs. The chicken is ALWAYS moist--I don't add extra water to the baking dish--I did this once and not necessary. The lemons and onion inside keep it moist and juicy. For a slight Asian flavor, a variation I did was to stuff the body with minced garlic, 2 limes, and a whole onion, then season the body outside with garlic powder, salt, pepper, soy sauce and a bottled ginger/garlic salad dressing. Yummy! If youre chicken comes with giblets, I make gravy, too...combine pan drippings from roasting the chicken with rinsed giblets in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Strain out and discard giblets and any solids, then whisk in about 1/4 cup milk, 2 TBs flour, and 2 TB's butter--I then season with parsley flakes, and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious! Very moist, the house smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I'm a rotisserie chicken lover usually, but this turned out really good. Even though, I applied other reviewers advice by brining and using additional ingredients and herbs, the rosemary stood out pleasantly. I would definitely use this recipe again, whenever I make roast chicken, mostly because the vegetables underneath the rack turned out so fabulous! I read someones review that they salted baby carrots and potato quarters and roasted that on the bottom of the pan with chicken stock... I did this as well but added fresh brussel sprouts and crushed sage leaves... never had brussel sprouts tasted so good!!! (5 star veggies for sure!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and just have to say by far it's the tastiest roast chicken I ever made and so simple yet very good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This came out beautifully, very juicy and tender with fantastic flavor. I gave the chicken a bit of a rub with fresh lemon juice, butter, salt and pepper, and also stuffed some lemon wedges and garlic in with the rosemary and onion. Served most recently to my mother-in-law, who went back for thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
It was excellent. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
JUICY & DELICIOUS! I love the flavor the rosemary added to the chicken. I made no changes to the recipe but I did roast it in my Pampered Chef clay baker with lid. Tender and juicy. Thank you LILQUIZ for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've made this several times and it is so delicious! I put half a lemon, quartered onion and crushed garlic inside the cavity. Then on the outside I rub olive oil and lemon juice all over the chicken, and sprinkle salt, ground pepper and rosemary. Make sure to let the chicken rest for 10-15 min after cooking or you'll lose the juices when carving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I love this recipe. This was my first roasted chicken and it was a hit. The store ran out of fresh rosemary so I had to use dried rosemary on the outside of the chicken. I stuffed the cavity with onion and garlic. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States