Risotto with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was just okay. I ended up having to add extra broth because the rice was still under cooked. Didn't really care for the overall flavors either. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This wasn't perfect, but it was so nice, I'll give it 5 stars anyway. I made it pretty much exactly as written, except I had a bit more chicken, 1.17# (17.17 oz.) instead of the 10 oz. specified. (I have no idea where people find chicken breasts that small.) I didn't know what kind of white wine to use, so I used a Moscato d'Asti, which is sweet. The "add stock, and stir some more" steps were a bit involved, but I took the time. I'm not very experienced with risotto, but I've made a few different recipes, and in comparison this one didn't seem to come out with the desired "creamy" rice texture. Overall, though, I enjoyed eating this over two dinners, and it's still worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never made risotto before and it came out beautifully. I was so proud of this dish and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this recipe and so do my kids! The only variation that I use is substituting frozen peas for the asparagus and using a full 4 cup container of chicken stock instead of 2 cups to make the rice nice and soft. This is one of my family's go to dinners and usually makes our weekly menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this vegetarian and added a bit more asparagus. Also, instead of wine I used more chicken broth and 1 or 2 tsp red wine vinegar. I also only used 1/4 cup cheese as that's all it needed for my taste. Very delicious and I believe it would have been just as delicious without the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe, but agree with the other reviewers comments regarding the wine (increased by adding 1 1/2 times what the recipe called for) and broth. I needed more than double the broth as what the recipe called for in order to get the risotto to the softness I wanted. I also needed to add some salt and garlic powder for a little more taste. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made correctly this is beyond a 5 star recipe--I used approximately 5 cups of chicken broth and skipped the Parmesan cheese (was out). Incredibly delicious! I diced the asparagus stalks but left the tips in tact (added the tips during the last round of broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I loved this dish. I exchanged the oregano and basil for lemon zest. Also added some diced chicken to make it more of filling meal. Everyone enjoyed this risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was my first attempt at risotto. I read some of the other comment and was concerned about the amount of liquid. I ended up using 2 1/2 cups (split in three) and it worked fine. I probably could have done the 2 cups. Other than that this recipes was pretty easy and straightforward. This was a really tasty recipe and I will def. make it again. I made it as a side dish so I left out the chicken. The recipes yielded a lot, I would think it is more than two servings even as a main. I also noticed the nutritional information seems very high, even for the large portions. When I put the recipe into a nutrition calculator, it came back less than posted on here (I did with and without chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I'll absolutely make this again! I used 2x the chicken broth, as recommended by other reviewers. I did not use the oregano, basil, salt, or pepper, and it was still amazing! Completely forgot the cheese, too, and didn't miss it. A rich roasted garlic flavor throughout, the family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States