Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe! My husband, who is not big on sweets, said it's the best rhubarb dish he's ever tasted. This will be a regular dish. I'm going to try and double the recipe next time and see how it goes. I'd like it to be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This was so simple and delicious. I made it for a sailing picnic, it was a smash hit. They had it gone within 30 minutes. Definitely making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
If using frozen rhubarb put 1/4 cup of flour. This was excellent and the ladies at the retreat loved it! I also added sliced almonds to the crumble on top. Perfect just the way it is, no need to alter measurements. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I didn't measure the fruit to the recipe specifications so I think I used more than it called for. But it was delicious! Reminded me of my grandmother's crisp. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Perfect amount of rhubarb. Not too sour. It does make a very large amount of topping, but I liked it! I added a dash of cinnamon to the topping which added a nice spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as it says an loved it, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I tried this today, all the ingredients seemed to be good as is, but with a diabetic in the house I used Splenda for the sugar and based on the other reviews I cut the sugar back to 3/4, but with Splenda I don't think I would cut back again. Was delicious though, the crunch came out perfectly, as I had to do the old fashioned way with a fork vs a pastry cutter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
A little too sweet, I will add less sugar next time, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I'm giving this recipe itself 4 stars (I'd probably do 3.5 if I could) as it helped me be able to have a base to make some adjustments from. Like some other reviewers have said, the proportions are a bit off for my liking. I used 2.5 c strawberries, 2 c rhubarb (that was all I had), and about 1/3 c sugar plus 3Tbs flour mixed together with the fruit. Fresh strawberries are very sweet, and 1 cup of sugar was just way too much. For the topping, I did 2/3c each of dark brown sugar, flour, and old fashioned oats with a 1/2 c of butter. I also added a 1/2tsp of orange extract, and think I'll do 1 tsp next time. I have also added almond extract to the topping. This seems to be the best combination and amounts of ingredients for my fiance and me, it's sweet but not overpowering, and just the right amount of crumble on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I only had strawberries on hand and no rhubarb. I doubled the strawberries and it turned out excellent. Can't wait to actually try it with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States