Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this today and overall it is a great recipe though I altered a few things based on other reviews: I halved the crunchy topping and it is definitely more than enough after doing so, though next time I would reduce the butter at least by half. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 of a cup and this was still TOO sweet, next time I will reduce the sugar by half or even more, maybe 1/3 cup even. Lastly, I upped the flour to 5 tbsp as I like a thicker filling. A great base recipe that can easily be altered based on your own likes/dislikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristaluvaaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This smells and tastes amazing! Like some other reviewers, I increased the amount of both the strawberries and rhubarb to 4 cups each and decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup. Also, it's not necessary to try and cut the cold butter into the dry ingredients. You will get the same result if you mix the dry ingredients, pour it over the fruit, and cut the butter into pats and lay them evenly on top of the crumble mixture. It's a lot easier. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was just a fruit crisp. If you have a favorite fruit crisp recipe then just use that. I can't rate this higher because I followed the directions of other reviewers and agree that I cannot see how the original recipe could have worked. I added a small amount of cinnamon but if I were to make it again I would add lots of cinnamon and nutmeg and maybe grind up some pecans to jazz up the topping. This was good but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Yum! I read the reviews and saw there was too much crunch so I tried to put some on the bottom of my pan. I used a glass pan, and the crunch stuck a bit. Overall, the taste was superb. I will definitely make this again, but tweak it a bit to better portion the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Tried this last night on the bbq. After grilling steaks and shrimp, we left the grill on low and put the 9x13 pan on the top rack/indirect heat while we ate. After 45 minutes (at about 350 degrees)the crisp was perfect, and done just in time! I followed reviewer's recipe which raised the quantities of fruit to 4 cups each and flour to 5 tbs. I sprinkled the top with a bit of cinnamon too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Made this today with the first sweet strawberries of the season and fresh rhubarb from the farmers' market, and served it with vanilla ice cream. Totally delicious! We halved the recipe and used a 9" diameter glass pie dish and it turned out just fine. In future I might make a little bit less topping and use a little less sugar in the filling for a tarter taste, but this is a seriously delicious dessert. Also, this is a great recipe to make with kids. My 3.5-year-old helped put the fruit in the bowl and mix it all up, and she had a fabulous time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I thought it was GREAT! I used frozen strawberries from last summer. I thawed them out and dumped off the juice. I also drizzled melted caramel sauce over the top. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Everyone in my family loves this dessert, couldn't wait for rhubarb season to do it again. I reduce both brown and white sugar by a 1/3 of a cup each and the result is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this yesterday and it was sooo good warm from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. My husband had 2 servings. Personally, I thought the recipe might be a tad bit better with more fruit, but my husband disagrees. I'm not much of a "traditional" breakfast eater--cereal, fruit, toast, etc. I often have leftovers for breakfast. The crunch was still great after being in the fridge last night. This recipe is definitely a "keeper" and will be a great recipe to take to "pot-lucks" or family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States