Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I tried this today, all the ingredients seemed to be good as is, but with a diabetic in the house I used Splenda for the sugar and based on the other reviews I cut the sugar back to 3/4, but with Splenda I don't think I would cut back again. Was delicious though, the crunch came out perfectly, as I had to do the old fashioned way with a fork vs a pastry cutter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
A little too sweet, I will add less sugar next time, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I'm giving this recipe itself 4 stars (I'd probably do 3.5 if I could) as it helped me be able to have a base to make some adjustments from. Like some other reviewers have said, the proportions are a bit off for my liking. I used 2.5 c strawberries, 2 c rhubarb (that was all I had), and about 1/3 c sugar plus 3Tbs flour mixed together with the fruit. Fresh strawberries are very sweet, and 1 cup of sugar was just way too much. For the topping, I did 2/3c each of dark brown sugar, flour, and old fashioned oats with a 1/2 c of butter. I also added a 1/2tsp of orange extract, and think I'll do 1 tsp next time. I have also added almond extract to the topping. This seems to be the best combination and amounts of ingredients for my fiance and me, it's sweet but not overpowering, and just the right amount of crumble on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I only had strawberries on hand and no rhubarb. I doubled the strawberries and it turned out excellent. Can't wait to actually try it with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is such a quick and easy recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was a little worried about the topping because the flour didn't mix in very well with my mixer, but it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great made as is. Made two times in one week. The second time I used frozen berries and fresh rhubarb. I also cut down to 3/4 cup of white sugar. Tasted great both ways especially with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this tonight. This was very, very good. I did not have enough strawberries on hand - but I did have some blueberries - The rhubarb I picked fresh, used 2 cups of strawberries and added 1 cup of blueberries - I also used Splenda as we have some in the family that can't have much sugar - the rest of the recipe was followed exactly as written, This had a wonderful flavor - not too sweet. I did think, while making the crumble that it looked like a lot - however I used it all - as was written. I am glad I did - after baking, the topping was just right. All in all the recipe is just fine in my book - I will be making this quite a bit this summer. Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wonderful! However. I used Stevia powder instead of the white sugar-- drops the calories a lot. Stevia is perfect for diabetics as it has no calories AND is all natural. No chemicals as in Sugartwin. I don't see any recipes using Stevia and I wonder why no one has recommended it. Even the Canadian Diabetic Assoc. hasn't heard of it. If you have family members who can't have sugar, use Stevia in any recipe calling for sugar. The measurements of the powder are the same as for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I know some of you said it was too much topping going on but, I love a lot of topping so hats off to you Michelle it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie Lutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Pretty good made as directed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States