Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Unlike many others, I use ALL the topping (well almost all, it's so darn good I usually snack a bit on it before putting it on the fruit...). I used a canned rhubarb, strawberry mixture the first time as it was too early for fresh rhubarb and it was pretty good, though have made it since with fresh and no surprise it is much better. I could eat this every day. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was sooo delicious. I used closer to 4 cups of strawberries - to use up what I had; For the topping I reduced the flour to 1 cup kept everything else the same except added a generous teaspoon of cinnamon. We loved this recipe, the perfect combo of tart and sweet. I always make my 'crunch' recipes in a deep casserole dish, not a baking pan; this one used the large French White dish and it was perfect. No complaints about too much topping from us - that's what makes a crunch a crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is too sweet. It could probably handle 2 more cups of fruit (don't add anymore sugar or flour). The topping is very sweet as well... next time I will cut the sugar in half and add some cinnamon & nutmeg. The topping as written here is a little bland. There is a lot of the topping as well... increasing the fruit might help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sruddach
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Used 5 cups of rhubarb, halfed the butter, brown sugar & flour in crumble (kept oats at 1 c)... Just delicious. Would make again. Love the sweet & tart combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Excellent served warm with ice cream. Very easy to make too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
What a wonderful dish. I made it exactly to the recipe and thought it was well balanced for our taste! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe! I have my own topping recipe (very similar to this one) that I use, so I mainly tried this recipe for the filling... LOVED IT! I used the 1 cup of sugar and it left the filling with a perfectly balanced sweet & tart taste. The only thing I might do differently next time is add a touch more flour because it seemed a little runny, but that certainly didn't affect the taste! It could be because I used frozen rhubarb instead of fresh... either way, this recipe is a keeper, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
VERY good. I brought this to a cookout and it got devoured! I made it exactly as the recipe states and it was great, but I agree with the other reviewers that it would be better with 4 or 5 cups of strawberry and rhubarb. Also will use just 3/4 cup of sugar, it was a bit too sweet. I will add a bit of cinnamon and vanilla to the fruit mixture as other reviewers did. Could also easily cut back on the flour and the butter. Took FOREVER to cut all the rhubarb and strawberries, but it was totally worth it! This is good served cold, but much better warm with a little ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Out of this world perfect! Proportions were just right with a nice balance of sour to sweet! On the tart side with a hint of sweet. I added 3/4t. cinnamon and nutmeg...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States