Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My favorite! Definitely use veggie broth, or beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great! I don't buy canned anymore. I make a good-sized batch and freeze portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Amazing! I love refried beans but I don't often buy the cans because frankly - it looks like something Fido would eat. These were delicious and creamy. I did tone down the salt a bit and reduced the amounts for our small family and I used 1/2 water and 1/2 homemade beef broth. Definitely worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing and simple. My apartment smelled so good that I had to serve a bowl of beans at 6 1/2 hours and they taste perfectly tender. I still leave them in until 8 hrs because they mash wonderfully at that point. I've doubled the recipe using half black bean half pinto and they mash soo creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
You can also use canned beans for this. Not quite so good, but fine if you need them in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I was eating at a restaurant down south once and they served up a small bowl of refried black beans along side my breakfast. It was delicious. So I was searching for a recipe to try. I saw this one made with pintos and decided to try it using all black beans instead. It. Is. Delicious. I cut back the salt to 3 tsp and I used an Epicure chili garlic sea salt. I added the optional cumin as well. The jalapeños give this dish just a little bit of kick and all of the ingredients together taste wonderful. The best thing about this is its a great way to get healthy slow carbs into your diet. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
this was easy and delicious. i cooked the beans all day on my wood stove. they tasted great and made the whole house smell good. this is my favorite. im making them today for the second time, to go with home made tamales. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen valentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchor Point, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
What a great recipe! I followed the advise of several other reviewers and (a) reduced the salt to 1 tsp and (b) included 6 strips of bacon. I was able to reduce the prep time to 1 hr. 15 mins. by cooking the dry beans in a 12psi pressure cooker for 1 hour. While the beans were cooking I fried the bacon then cooked the onions, jalapeno, and garlic in the bacon fat. I blended all the pan ingredients and added them to the cooked/drained beans for mashing. Definitely not as healthy with the bacon but, my gosh, they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I have made this 2x now and each time has been great. Refried beans in the can are not available where I live and this recipe is a prefect replacement. I made them in the pressure cooked since I don't have a slow cooker. Be sure to soak the beans overnight to reduce cooking time. I cook on low-medium for an hour+ (my cooker is too small,too full to give the full whistles). Following suggestions from other reviews: I cooked in chicken stock (homemade from a recipe on this site) and I added some kidney beans. I used hot green chilli instead since I have this on hand and enjoy the heat! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This recipe is so great. So healthy, delicious, better than normal refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States