Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. They smelled amazing throughout the entire day and the turned out delicious! Thank you for sharing. It is definitely a recipe you can adjust based off your own taste preferences (if you want more jalapeno or you want to add some different flavors via seasonings, etc.). I can't say I won't ever buy a can of refried beans again, but when I plan enough in advance, I will use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I worked at Taco Bell in the 70's and I came in early to cook the beans and meat for the day.I used beans,water,armour lard and salt.That is it.They were cooked in 2 big pressure cooker's.When done I used a big electric whisk to finish them.We never re-fried them.I don't know what they do now but these are better.I love the addition of cumin to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesbitt929

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe about half a dozen times. So delicious, easy, and nutritious. I have used it in burritos, or as a side with eggs in the morning, or as a dip with chips as an appi. Freezing them as burritos with cheese has been a delicious emergency lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love these beans. Makes burritos or any mexican food night that much more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Next time I will add less salt. I should have read the reviews. Other than that they were so good. I like the idea of adding different ingredients to change up the flavor from time to time. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious!! I am never buying canned again!!! So easy and it has a tiny little kick at the end. PERFECT! I totally skipped the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Loved this! I did take recommendations from other reviewers. I used tomato paste, and chicken broth in place of water, and just because I love it, I threw in a chipotle pepper. I can't help but echo, I'll never buy a can of sauce again! Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Favorite retried beans! I haven't bought canned since trying this. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Love this with black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I am done buying canned refried beans now that I've tried this recipe! I made it exactly as instructed and it was delicious. I prefer things more salty so I added salt to my portion instead of making the beans oversalty. It was a huge hit at an office potluck. Cheap, flavorful and healthy. A+ on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States