Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Easy, delicious, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Camp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Delicious! I will never buy canned refried beans again! The only issue I had though was based on other reviews I cut the salt back to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I found that it needed more salt and I normally don't salt my food. Next time I will try 2 1/2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I changed the recipe a little bit by using black beans instead of pinto beans. I used only 2 1/2 tsp of sea salt and chicken broth instead of plain water. I also added a few small slices of ginger root to help with digestibility. These were the best "refried" beans I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I will never buy refried beans again. The whole family, kids included, request that I always have some on hand now and it's easy enough that I can. I go ahead and throw the whole jalapeno in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Wonderful recipe! I omitted all salt due to my spouse having salt restrictions for heart reasons. We took the advice of another post and when mashing the beans added a bit a of lard and 1/4 cup of milk. Still very flavorful. We serve it with just a dollop of sour cream to add a touch of more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Never made them from scratch before and they were sooo good! Took them to work for a carry-in and people loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Trenado
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I have been making these refried beans every week since I tried the recipe the first time. I cook them on the stove to cook faster and 1 stick of butter to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is wonderful! I used 2 cups black beans & 1 cup pinto and left out the jalapeno. I also followed the advice of others and didn't add the salt until I was mashing the beans. Only used 2 teaspoons of sea salt. Didn't add any more liquid during mashing however a day or two later the beans thickened up in the fridge so next time I will make them a little thinner. I will also try low sodium chicken broth in place of the water to see if/how that changes the flavor. My Hubby who doesn't like refried beans loved these and is all ready asking me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
As advertised! I'm surprised by this recipe. Thank goodness we followed advice and used only 2 tsp salt instead of 5. It is every bit as good as store-bought and is better for us. Plus there's much potential for experimentation by adding more/less spice, jalapenos, vegetables, cheese... We reduced the salt but increased the cumin to 1/2 tsp. We stuck with 1/2 of one jalapeno. It had a tiny zing to it but our 7-month-old baby ate it without pause. We also drained the water but left the onion in and pureed it. We'll be adding this to our regular rotation. No more canned refried beans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe with the only change being half water and half chicken stock. It was very salty. It could be because we don't eat a lot of salt in our house. Next time I will cut down the salt to 2 1/2 teaspoons. Otherwise they were great! Wonderful flavor and consistency. We will freeze some for next time. I may never buy canned beans again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNJWAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States