Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
We love this recipe. Perfect as is, but have also used 1/2 and 1/2 black beans and pinto. YUM! Made a double batch to have plenty in the freezer! SOOO much better than canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I halved the salt to 2.5 teaspoons but it was still VERY salty. Otherwise, a good recipe. I shall make it again but with only one teaspoon of salt and probably add extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These beans are amazing! I made them for the first time today, and my 4 and 6 year olds inhaled them! We couldn't get enough. Seriously. We almost ate all of it before my husband came home. I left out the jalapeño because of an allergy, but otherwise made the recipe as written. Forget canned beans with all the preservatives and sugar. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Very easy and very delicious. We made burritos with cilantro lime brown rice, and a little bit of cheese. I upped the cumin, used 4 cups low sodium chicken broth and 5 cups water. I ladled out the liquid instead of trying to strain it from a hot slow cooker. Save the liquid, you may need to add some when warming up leftover beans. I will make this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I gave this recipe a 5 star because it turns out great following the recipe minus some salt or adding additional things to it. It is cost efficient, healthier and delicious! I make it on a regular basis and my children love it. Thank you for a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was awesome. Will definitely be making this regularly. Great with some jalapeno jack cheese and sour cream. I had a roasted chicken carcass available so I boiled that in about 10 cups of water for a couple of hours and then had the 8 cups of broth left to use for this instead of water. I drained off about 6 cups of liquid and then used an immersion blender. It was not as thick as I think most people would like, so probably better to follow instructions and add the liquid back in as you blend/mash them. But leftovers did get thicker. I then used the liquid I pulled off to make Spicy Black Bean Slow Cooker Soup (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Loved it! Goes great with Taco Salad or Cornbread. I did not mash the beans and they were just as good. I used 4 cups of low sodium chicken broth, 5 cups of water and 1 tsp of salt. I used 1 tsp of cumin and chopped jalapenos from a jar. I served it with sour cream and chopped green onions. Chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce would be great in this. Next time, I will use a tblsp of Cajun Seasoning instead of the Cumin for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is way too salty and has too much pepper. I made the recipe as written, should have read the reviews first. I guess it is a simple fix so 2 stars instead of 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Being a vegetarian, this recipe has become a staple for me. I love how healthy and yummy these beans are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States