Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! So pleased with this recipe! Thank you so for it. Everyone loved it, can't believe how tasty and versatile. Will keep it as a staple now. PS. I only used 8 cups of water, and smoked paprika instead of cumin ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinrosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great! Never will buy canned refried beans again. Didn't add salt until beans were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my favorite recipe on this site! It is so easy and the resulting beans are so versatile. Not only a stand alone refried bean dish but I've used this recipe as a base for soup, chili and the greatest bean dip ever. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried this one tonight, and everyone loved it! I followed one of the other reviews and used a can of green chilies instead of a jalapeno. Instead of mashing, I threw it all in the blender after I drained, with a little of the juice added in, and--bam!--we were in business. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I loved these beans AND they were super easy to make!!! The only change I made was using half of a jalapeno because I like my food pretty spice. I am going to use 2 jalapenos next time because it still wasn't very spicy. Thank you for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent. I can't get enough of these. I will never buy canned refried beans again. I did reduce the salt per recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is so versatile for any meal of the day. I pre-soak the beans which helps with digestion, trust me ;) I use 3-4 teaspoons of canned hot jalapenos since the fresh ones from the store are sometimes very bland and not spicy. I also put a full teaspoon of cumin powder and cut the salt to 2 1/2 teaspoons as others noted. I eat them for breakfast with corn tortillas and a fried egg on top, and for lunch or dinner it's perfect with shredded lettuce, salsa, and cheese. Love that the recipe is healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am giving this recipe for starts because it gave me a great base for refries in a slow cooker. I wanted to follow the recipe to a "T", but couldn't do it. After making these for years with an old family recipe I couldn't totally ignore the bacon grease. At the end - needing some flavor I added about 2 tablespoons and stirred in. Plus the tip I got for using the hand immersion blender was worth the whole four stars. Don't know why I never thought of that before. Here are my adjustments for anyone interested. Definitely use at least 2 cups of chicken broth instead of all water and wait until the end to salt and just salt to taste. I also used a whole jalepeno, 1 1/4 tsp. ground cumin, 1/2 tsp chili powder,and no black pepper. Again, just my taste. Anyhow my husband and I have been sitting here eating them after taste testing. Oh, I did NOT take out all of the liquid I just scooped out as much as I thought I wanted to and blended away. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I like beans but I just don't like refried beans. When I go to Mexican restaurants, I always ask them to leave them out because I just don't like them at all. We've been cooking/eating Mexican food a lot lately using slow cooker and after seeing how many reviews this one had, I just wanted to try it for my husband cause he likes refried beans. To my surprise, I liked them very much, too. They were really good and I thought they completed my Mexican meals. I am looking forward to having them again with my slow cooked carnita(which is also from this site) for dinner tonight(we had them for lunch as well). I think just simple bean burrito with some rice and cheese would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States