Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Excellent, easy, tasty and so healthy! I did cut the salt as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These were good and tasted perfect. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I must have done something wrong. No bueno! I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious but can be salty. I follow the recipe almost exactly. I chop onion, reduce salt to 3 teaspoons and cook it in a Dutch oven (so I reduce water accordingly). It's really good and freezes well. So it can be cooked well in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My friend made this recipe and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Amazing!!!! Will never buy can beans again. My daughter loves them and she doesn't like beans. Did as others suggested 3 tsp of salt and 4 cups chicken broth and 5 cups water. Thank you for a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
SO good! I use this recipe to make cheesy rice and bean burritos, but it's just as tasty eaten on its own as a side dish. My changes: I mince the onion instead of halving it so I'm not left with large parts of onion in the end result. I only use 2 tsp of salt. I omit the jalapenos. And 1/4 tsp of cumin is absolutely necessary to keep it from being bland! I've found that 6-7 hours is enough time for the beans to cook. I like them to be the same consistency as mashed potatoes, so I don't add any of the drained bean broth back into the mashed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
3 cups of dried beans makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe for 10 servings. I so wish I had made it for the default 15 so I could have more leftovers. As others have stated I substituted 1/2 of the water for chicken stock. We used them on tostadas and the beans got rave reviews from my family of hungry eaters. I usually eat much later than my family does and adding the cooking liquid as the refried beans cook down only made them more flavorful. I will never buy canned beans again! This recipe was so good that I finally decided to write a review even though I have subscribed to this website for many years and have found many other excellent recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Excellent results with minimal effort! I reduced the salt to about 3 teaspoons, and I added a whole, de-seeded jalapeno. I used the food processor to mash the beans, which made it even easier. I did add about 2-3 teaspoons of safflower oil when I was mashing because I prefer low-fat to fat-free. I froze half of the beans in a quart-sized Mason jar and served the other half in bean burritos. (I also froze the leftover "bean broth" to use as a soup base or to cook rice.) They were very good, but I have to say that the beans tasted best the second day (they didn't make it to a third day...) because sitting in the fridge overnight allowed the spices to stand out more. Next time, I think I will add some more cumin and another jalapeno. Even though I added a whole red jalapeno, I couldn't taste any heat at all. I will definitely make this again! My boyfriend is already requesting a second batch with a reserved jar for him to freeze, since he doesn't have a slowcooker of his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States