Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
AMAZING! A huge hit with the family! I did add a little milk to make them creamier (thanks to a previous review). Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Very Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redroni63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
First effort came out sooo delicious!!I didn't salt until it was done because we eat a low sodium diet and didn't want it to be too salty. I used chicken broth as was recommended by others and also used whole jalepeno. I thought using the whole jalepeno might be too hot but it wasn't at all and since we like a little heat next time I will use 2 or 3. Just as a reference we like a "medium" heat salsa and this was definitely mild with the 1 pepper. I also used my hand held immersion blender and mixed to our desired texture. I won't be buying canned ever again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Absolutely loved this recipe. We eat a lot of beans in our musical household. Make sure you continue to add water throughout the day to keep the beanies moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
These beans are fantastic! Note: if you soak the beans over-night then you only have to have them in your slow cooker on high for 5 hours. Also, don't add salt until beans are done. Adding salt beforehand can make the skins on the beans remain tough. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is so easy yet so very tasty. I make this recipe as whole beans not mashed and I like to use black beans. I like the others use broth instead of plain water and use only about 1-2 tsp of salt. I'm constantly asked for this recipe. Definitely one of my go to recipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe definitely has potential. I did read a lot of the positive and negative reviews to get a feel for the results. Based on others feedback, I did cut back the salt to 3 tsp, which was plenty for me. The onion is key, and does blend right into the beans. Definitely drain off the liquid thoroughly - I scooped out the bulk of the liquid but left some in and used my immersion blender to blend - it was runnier than I was looking for, but again, my fault for not getting out all the liquid. Still a good taste. I thought the jalapeno got lost, so I may put that in after they are cooked or near the end next time I make these. I'm also not a huge fan of cumin, so for me the recommended amount was good. It only took about 4 hours in my crock pot on high. For my first time using dried beans to make anything, I'd call this a success! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I've made this several times and it never disappoints! So easy and delicious. I also add a little chili powder and sometimes some red pepper flakes for a touch of heat. Leftovers freeze very well, and are a snap to defrost for the next taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
These retried beans are great, will never buy canned retried beans again. Followed recipe and only omitted the jalapeños so the kids would eat them and they ended up having two servings each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Menard
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I don't like biting into onions so I thought should chop them up but I trusted the recipe instead..with the beans cooking for so long it was as if the onions weren't even there....I loved this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States