Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
Yummy! I have a large family that gets together for Sunday lunch. I made the beans, and EVERYBODY loved them! Only change I made after reading the reviews was adding about 5 chicken bouillon cubes. I also added 3tablespoons of garlic salt and no other salt. There are 23 of us and this made enough for all. I used a 2 lb bag of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I halved this recipe and used my smaller 2qt crockpot. When I got home, I found all the liquid gone! I added more water/chicken stock and waiting a couple more hours. They still turned out great! Next time, I'll use at least 2 cups more liquid if I half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Very good recipe and a lot more healthier than either making refried beans or buying them in a can. A couple of things to consider. Hold the bean juice longer than you think before you pour it down the sink. The longer the beans sit the harder and more crusty they become and you will want to add more bean juice to keep the consistency of the beans more like a restaurant style of beans which are usually right on the borderline of being soupy but they are taste very fresh. Also, considering not adding any add or cutting the salt by at least half to the recipe. As other have noted if you make this recipe as is the result are very salty beans. Also, unless you think hot tasting food considering leaving the jalapeno out too. Gives the beans a nice warm flavor but could be a problem for people who are sensitive to heartburn. I cooked them all eight hours and the beans are very easy to mash down and eat right away after you strained them and then added back the bean juice. They do reheat well and taste even better the day they are initially made. Overall, great recipe for people who love refried beans but don't like all of the oil involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe was so easy! I only used 3 teaspoons of salt. I would say to add back about 1 cup of the liquid while you are mashing the beans. Everyone in my family loved these beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iron-mom
Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Deliciously simple recipe, will continue to make this side dish treat for years to come. Decreased the salt to 3 teaspoons, gotta watch the ole sodium intake. We like our beans with a bit of a kick so I added two jalapeños with the seeds, BIG pinch of red chili powder and cumin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
These are the most amazing "refried" beans we have ever eaten!! My bean hating husband loved them, and my refried bean obsessed son gave them double thumbs up as well (and he's PICKY!!). I omitted the jalapeño and the onion (because I didn't have any onions on hand). I will never buy canned refried beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
When the beans cook, they smell great and about drive me nuts. Having them right out of the pot is wonderful. I put these low fat 'refried' beans and lower fat Mexican cheese into burritos, freeze them and have for a late (or two lazy to cook) dinner. Add some salsa and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Wonderful flavor. Will probably use a hand blender for a smoother texture if I prepare it for guest, but the potato masher worked just fine for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
For the record I'm a salt lover (I know it's horrible for me) but this recipe is salt overkill! It was gross!! I will try it again but I will only add two teaspoons of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I've used this recipe several times now and it has become the standard way that I cook beans. I recommend only using 3 teaspoons of salt, then adding additional salt, to taste. I also add 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil. The beans will be awesome, either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States