Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Excellent, easy to make. This was our third time. Quite a conversation piece also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was GONE at the end of the day. It's very, light. I used the golden butter recipe. Also used the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING on same website. All you do is add a small package of instant vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to the 8 oz cool whip. You combine the pudding mix with milk and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Gently fold in cool whip until no streaks. This topping is also good for a fruit dip. It's a little more firm than just plain cool whip. I was concerned about letting the cake sit out all day with a cool whip topping, but that wasn't a problem. Everyone was able to see how festive it was -- then chowed down on it later. I will fix this every July 4th -- now a tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I tried this recipe for a 4th of July dinner and it was a total hit!! It was very easy to make and everyone loved it! I will definately make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This cake looks good and we did a homemade cake version for Fourth of July, but why call this a "shortcake" when it's just a yellow cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I made this for a family reunion with a patriotic theme and everyone really liked it! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
My family and I love to make this every year...For Four years now, my 4 year old helps put the berries on......Its become a tradition.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This has always been the talk of the cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole B.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I absolutely LOVE the idea of this festive cake recipe! The only thing I did different is I used the cool whipped frosting recipe on here and I used golden vanilla cake mix! Oh so YUMMY! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This cake is great. My girls and I make it several times a year. The military people in the family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. We also use it for Valentine's day for the grandkids. Just slice strawberries to make it look like hearts, dip in a little lemon juice to stay fresh. Lay on paper towel to catch extra juice & lay them on top the cool whip. They love it. You can also let them help decorate. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Blue Flag Toast

A fun, easy, and patriotic breakfast.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States