Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Made this for memorial day & my entire family loved it! The only thing I did differently was put strawberry gel on the cake before frosting it with whipped topping...it just adds a little something :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinnlewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great and easy recipe. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used chocolate cake. EXCELLENT. The taste of chocolate cake and cool whip with the berries is excellent. Be sure to cut the strawberries consistently to ensure the rows are even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This cake couldn't have been easier to make and yet, it couldn't have been a bigger hit! The only problem I encountered was when the whipped cream topping started to melt because the cake had not fully cooled when I tried to ice it. I was in a hurry so I didn't take the time to carefully arrange the strawberries and blueberries, but it still ended up looking great. I think this cake will become a 4th of July tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made this first on the 4th and it was gone an hour into serving it. I made it again yesterday, and to make it easier to serve. I used a non-stick flour based baking spay to avoid sticking, and I pre-cut before I put the whipped cream on it to make it much easier to serve. So Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious and easy. I made the cake, my 11 yr old did the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My family loves lemon cake so I made that in replace of the yellow cake. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Mang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was fantastic! I followed a suggestion in the comments andused the cool whipped frosting recipe from this sight and it really took this dish from simple to special! Everyone loved it and it was gone fast! I will make this every 4th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchid_Bri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A huge hit. Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ritsuko F
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great for July 4th! We had BBQ at Brother-in-law's house with about 30 people, and everybody could not wait to cut the cake to enjoy. I used German chocolate cake instead of yellow cake. I also poked cake and ran 14 oz can of fat free sweeten condensed milk right after come out of the oven. It is rich and milky chocolate cake with berries. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuriousCook
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My kids and I made this today for our annual 4th of July party at our best friends house! It was a HIT everyone loved it and we only brought home 3 pieces!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States