Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I've made this cake many times and it's beautiful as well as delicious. I usually make it with chocolate cake but whatever cake you choose will be fine. So easy and fun for kids to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is one of my favorite holiday desserts! I haven't had a piece is years, and I'm really looking forward to making it this year. I think I might substitute angel food cake instead of yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crburros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Festive, quick, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made this for fourth of july and it turned out great! Just follow the directions completely and it just turns out great!!! I completely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I give this 4 stars for appearance. It is good, too, but I have a twist on it that I think is a little tastier and still fits the red, white & blue theme. I make an angel food cake and tear it into bite-sized pieces; cut clean the blueberries and clean and slice the strawberries into another bowl. Be generous with the berries! In a third bowl make creme of whipped topping, instant vanilla pudding and skim milk (cut back on the milk a little to compensate for the whipped topping). Using a large glass bowl to assemble the dessert, layer angelfood cake, pudding mixture, then berries. Repeat. Hint: prepare all the ingredients for assembly waiting until last to make the pudding mixture. You want to put the dessert together as soon as you mix the creme so it sets up in the dessert not in the bowl you've mixed it in. Sorry the recipe isn't more specific, but you really can't go wrong. This is a favorite of all my friends and family... it just tastes like summer. Years ago I was preparing a dessert for a July 4th party. I was aiming for a finished product like the one in the picture. With an ambitious three-year-old helping it didn't look that good, at all, but it got rave reviews for taste. My three-year old even said, "Mom, that sure is ugly pudding but it's really yummy." The name "ugly pudding" stuck but we found the layered presentation was a big improvement in aesthetics. To this day my husband and kids ask for ugly pudding more than any other treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It's good but too much cake and not enough strawberries. The next time I made it I sliced the cake in half longways to make a layer. I poured strawberry glaze and put a layer of sliced strawberries and blueberries. Placed the top layer of cake and finished with whipped cream, blueberries and strawberries to make look like a flag. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Not a bad cake. I took someones advice who reviewed this cake as well an added a packet of instant vanilla pudding to the whipped topping. Definatley gave it a better taste and a firmer texture. Would make this again with the added pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
OMG, this cake is fantastic!!!! I brought it to our fourth of July picnic and everyone loved it! I will be making this cake every fourth until the day I die! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States