Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used a Butter Recipe cake mix. I also beat 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple of tablespoons of sugar and added it to the whipped topping to give it a little more body. Thanks for the decorating idea, made a nice July 4th presentation! I'm sharing my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have made this cake for over 15 years. I use white cake instead and add some color, flavor and texture by using a berry gelatin mix mixed with one cup hot water. I poke holes in cooled cake and pour gelatin mix over and refridgerate over night before adding cool-whip and decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
i loved this cake i followed everything and it was AMAZING!!! thankyou this is a new family tradition(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My daughters ( 11yrs & 9yrs)made this cake all by themselves for the fourth of July. It's an easy cake for kids and beginning chefs to do. It tastes great too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Came out great. Big size for 2 people. This is a give away cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I baked the cake as directed, allowed to cool, poked holes with shish kebab skewer, and spread top with strawberry glaze: 2/3 c strawberry jelly & 1 t lemon juice, stirred together in saucepan over low heat till jelly dissolves. Then cover glaze with whipped topping & fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I made this for our annual July 4th party. It went quickly and everyone loved it. I substituted the yellow cake mix and used white which uses egg whites instead of whole eggs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I looked over all of the reviews, and created into my own. First off, in the past when I have made this, it always seems to overflow the dish, so I baked the cake and transfered into a larger dish to decorate. I covered the cake with a can of strawberry and a can of blueberry pie filling. Then covered that with the cool whip blend doubled (16oz cool whip, 2tsp vanilla, 2 cups milk, 2 small boxs instant vanilla pudding). I decorated that with fresh blueberries and strawberries. It was a huge hit and well enjoed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
First time making this cake and it was a hit! Everyone loved it. I did take others advise and used the frosting with the pudding in the mix and im glad i did. I also used a vanilla cake box mix and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made this for the 4th of july everyone loved it!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States