Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I have used a similar recipe for years. I use a white cake mix. Poke holes in cake with a wooden skewer and pour 1 package prepared instant red jello, such as rasberry, cherry or strawberry over cake. Prepare only with 1 cup of hot water cooled. Frost with real whipped cream or Cool Whip. Deocorate with Blueberries for the stars and ether strawberries or red rasberries for the stripes. I bake it for the 4th of July and always get raves. Very Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Rather than make this cake from a boxed mix, we did it from scratch. My youngest granddaughters, ages 4 and 6, and I had so much fun making it. We used frozen blueberries and fresh strawberries. The girls didn't seem to mind the time it took me to cut the strawberries because they were busy chopping pecans that would go into and on top of the cake before it went into the oven. To make this an extra special occasion, pictures were taken of the girls gathered around their 92-yr old great grandma who held and displayed our pride and joy (the cake). Did we like the cake? You be the judge - pictures of the finished cake were done by 3:00 pm. The girls' Mom arrived at 7:00 and ate the last piece before returning home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. We also use it for Valentine's day for the grandkids. Just slice strawberries to make it look like hearts, dip in a little lemon juice to stay fresh. Lay on paper towel to catch extra juice & lay them on top the cool whip. They love it. You can also let them help decorate. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was GONE at the end of the day. It's very, light. I used the golden butter recipe. Also used the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING on same website. All you do is add a small package of instant vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to the 8 oz cool whip. You combine the pudding mix with milk and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Gently fold in cool whip until no streaks. This topping is also good for a fruit dip. It's a little more firm than just plain cool whip. I was concerned about letting the cake sit out all day with a cool whip topping, but that wasn't a problem. Everyone was able to see how festive it was -- then chowed down on it later. I will fix this every July 4th -- now a tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This cake is great. My girls and I make it several times a year. The military people in the family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was a very festive cake. I used it for a 4th of July potluck at work. Everyone agreed it was very nice looking. I used a white cake and made it a jello cake with raspberry jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very easy to make. I make my own whipped cream with heavy cream, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. It is very patriotic and perfect for the 4th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I have started making this a tradition every july 4th. I really like how light it is with the fruit and the whipped topping. Very tasty and easy to make,fun for the kids to help make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole B.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I absolutely LOVE the idea of this festive cake recipe! The only thing I did different is I used the cool whipped frosting recipe on here and I used golden vanilla cake mix! Oh so YUMMY! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A nice cake and very pretty to look at! I used chocolate cake instead of yellow just because I think that chocolate cake with Cool Whip is one of the best flavors in the world! Don't try to skimp on the whipped cream like I did. Use the whole container, believe me its well worth it. And make sure the cake is COMPLETELY cooled before you frost it, otherwise you'll end up with a runny, sloppy mess. Although a very good tasting mess. A very yummy and easy (plus fast) cake to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States