Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gselly
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
these cupcakes were such a crowd pleaser! I did modify it with the help of other reviewers and it just made all the difference, I do suggest you use more food coloring then what is asked but everything else was wonderful! the most amazing part of this whole thing was the frosting! omg consistency was beautiful and it was so delicious I could eat it just as is! definitely going to make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANTONETTE CARTER
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These cupcakes r so fantastic! I made all the suggestions that Cookinmama made and she was right on point! Simply Delicious! I've tried to add a photo but found it difficult! To see them look on my IG anetcarter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTONETTE CARTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
this recipe is amazing!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chontel Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I substituted yogurt for sour cream. But the cupcakes came up SO soft and everyone loved it :) Definitely gonna try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I really loved the way the cake itself came out, however, I was disappointed with the icing - it is a runny mess and all over the place. While I have just learned that European icing sugar does not have cornstarch, I do not think that it would have made a huge difference to using a sugar with cornstarch or adding my own. Luckily, they are still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made these for a present for my friends. They all loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have never made cupcakes. This recipe is so easy, my 10 year old made with minimum of my supervision. The cupcakes come out moist and fluffy, the frosting is simply delicious. We had to cut down sugar the first time and even more so the second time. Will use this recipe as a base for some other types of cupcakes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I just finished making this recipe and it is delicious! Perfectly moist cupcakes and the frosting is delicious. I've never made these before, and I think I have found my favorite ones already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
These are so delicious! SUPER fast to make and really yummy without the artificial taste. I WANT TO EAT IT NOW! I will definetly make these delectable cupcakes again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I followed every step perfectly for two batches, and had issues both times with not only the cake, but the icing as well. The cake is terribly bland and doesn't have that distinct red velvet flavour, nor, most importantly, the signature red colouring. These cupcakes turned out a dark brown with a mild chocolate-ish flavour. Unfortunately the icing was no better. It was no where near sweet enough, but after adding more confectioners sugar the taste was delicious! The only down side is the texture, because of the sour cream, the icing is very, very runny! I DO recommend the icing as long as you cut out the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States