Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I haven't made this recipe but the recipe I use isn't dry, and the frosting is no fail. For the cake, substitue 1 cup of oil for the shortining and increase the sugar to 2 cups. The frosting is 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 1lb powdered sugar, and 1tsp vanilla. Let frosting ingrediants warm to room temp before mixing to avoid overheating mixer or make in food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This cake is wonderful. Very moist & the icing is perfect, better than the traditional cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
I grew up on red velvet cake & this recipie is the REAL MCCOY! I am glad to have found the authentic recipie. It is fabulous. To the people who says the icing turns out runny, I am sure that you are not letting the flour & milk paste cool enough. It must be absolutely COLD of the butter will melt & run & the icing won't turn out creamy like it should. Put that pan in the refrigerater & let it cool for a good hour before you mix it with the butter & sugar! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
A little hard to make, but tasty and nice shade of red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
5-star cake! Moist with a velvety crumb. The frosting is just right. Family asks for this all the time, and I never take home leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This cake is DELICIOUS! it takes quite a bit of work, but the end result (even when the frosting doesn't turn out, and just drips off the cake) is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
Although the cake is a hassle to make, it sure is worth it. I found it to be very delicous. This is my first time making this cake and it turned out excellent. I didn't use the recipe for the cream cheese frosting, I used a different one, and sad to say it burn my blender out because it was so thick in the beggining. I have now decided to only make this cake only once a year, and that will be for the holidays. Although it is great, it's a hassle. I would make it year round otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this for Valentine's Day and it came out beautifully. A really nice color and most people have never heard of red velvet cake so it always gets a great reaction. I didn't make the frosting because I didn't want to keep the cake in the fridge, store bought vanilla worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
the no bake chocolate oatmeal cookies i've been using this recipe for years i got it from my grandmother and she made them when i was a little girl i'm now 45 years old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
A fantastic cake... great flavoring and color from a relatively simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States