Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I've had much better red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Good but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped and it was a bit flat tasting. I was hoping for a bit more bite. My search for the perfect red velvet recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is the best red velvet recipe iv found. I make it all the time and everyone iv made it for loves it. Don't use the frosting recipe given its terrible I don't even understand why someone would make frosting this way! Very moist, works well as cupcakes and as a cake even better when its eaten cold. Be careful not to over bake, very good recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutiekk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Absolutely to die for. A little dense... but I think I preferred it that way! I use a cream cheese icing and oh my. Absolutely heaven. Reminded me of Cheesecake Factory's Red Velvet Cheesecake . YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
The BEST red velvet cake! I made this cake using the substitutions everyone had suggested (3 tbl cocoa powder instead of 2 tbls, 1 oz red food coloring not 2 oz, 1 cup oil for 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups white sugar not 1 1/2 cups, and a tablespoon white vinegar). I did not make the frosting, so I can't rate that, but the cake is amazing! Rich, moist with the perfect combination of vanilla and cocoa as a proper red velvet should. I made this with red, white, and blue fondant for the 4th of July and it was a total hit at the bbq. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Edible, but I wouldn't serve it to anyone. I'm really disappointed with this recipe; the cake turned out too tangy and was falling apart on the plate. My husband said it tasted like play-doh. I won't be making this cake again. However, the icing turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Pretty good. I added 2 EXTRA tablespoons of cocoa for extra flavor. I also added a little extra food coloring to make sure the cocoa didn't turn it too brown. Very dense cake, like red velvet should be, but a little denser than I like it. I also added 1 extra tsp. vanilla. Made 22 cupcakes baked for 18 minutes. I might make it again. Slightly dry and a little too dense, but that may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This cake turned out very light and fluffy, and made beautifully domed cupcakes. I added gold rum and reduced the sugar by about half a cup so that the addition of frosting didn't make them too sweet. I think it would also be nice with whipped cream frosting. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Icing turned out funky but the cake was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoriaharrah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was the first time I made red velvet from scratch and it was delicious. I didn't have as much food coloring as required probably a little less that half and I was worried but it turned out wonderful. and not a problem at all. You do not need 2 ounces. The taste of chocolate is a little too subtle, so I will add some more next time. The frosting is delicious. I accidentally added 2 cups of sugar, but it still tasted really good. and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States