Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Followed a few of the suggestions. Loved the frosting. Much better than cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was my first time EVER making a cake, and it turned out very well! Very easy, too! However, it was a bit dry. But the icing is AMAZING!!! I would def recommend trying one of the modified versions, to have a more moist cake. It was for my boyfriend's birthday (and he is VERY into his taste buds and critiquing everything his tongue touches) so it was a very good sign that he enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very dry. Lacking flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aghavni30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
used previous suggestions - more cocoa, oil instead of shortening, used a cream cheese frosting (even if it isn't traditional, people love cream cheese frosting) - and this turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made the recommended alterations from the original recipe, batter was a little thick and cake was a little heavy, but delicious. Used only an ounce of food coloring, (about 2.5 T Spoons) and the color was beautiful. Also I used the coco powder to grease and dust the pans. Cake needs to be lighter and fluffier, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used the most helpful tips, and WOW, wonderful cake! I've heard many people have trouble with the moistness, I removed my cake from oven 3 min. early (27 min) and it was perfect! I also substituted 1/2 C olive oil and 1/2 C vegetable oil. Was GREAT. I would add 4 T cocoa if you want a more chocolatey flavor, 3 wasn't quite enough. So, good, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The reason I gave only 4 stars is because the cake was pretty dry. It tasted great and the frosting was great. If it were a little more moist it would be perfect. I plan to make it again with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I tweaked the recipe a little and it was very simple and delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Good cake, I just thought that it was a bit dry. I will make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I've had much better red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States