Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First of all, red velvet cake isn't my favorite, and that's mainly why it's only 4. But it's a great recipe for a friend's bday if they like red velvet. The red food coloring took me forever to find (two boxes of McCormick's) and cost $5. I'm going to buy this online for next time. I also didn't do a good enough job of mixing the cocoa paste in, and the coloring was uneven. The directions were confusing, but use a brown glass bowl to mix the baking soda and vinegar so it can react before you add it in. (obvious now). Finally, the frosting took 2 tries, but turned out perfect. The key was to use a hand mixer to cream for you otherwise it may not get creamy enough. Then add the gravy like milk in four equal portions, mixing thoroughly between potions. The picture shows strawberries with it. Must try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I followed other people's substitution suggestions and also used chocolate chips instead of cocoa powder as I didn't have any. Cake sunk in the middle (my fault, I'm sure, from over mixing). Used the frosting recipe, thought it had curdled but read other reviews saying you need to mix for nearly 10 minutes. Kept mixing and it came out great! Just tried the cake - it's not dry, actually quite moist and the icing is wonderful. This was my first ever Kitchen Aid Mixer recipe so will try again and try to avoid the sinking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
only 4 stars since I used the a fore mentioned changes and it was yummy. I'd use regular butter creme frosting as I'm not a chef and the cooking with flour just resulted in yucky floury lumps. but the cake was awesome and you really don't need two bottles of food coloring one is plenty, I brought it to work so I wouldn't eat it all myself. it was oohed and awed over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Followed a few of the suggestions. Loved the frosting. Much better than cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was my first time EVER making a cake, and it turned out very well! Very easy, too! However, it was a bit dry. But the icing is AMAZING!!! I would def recommend trying one of the modified versions, to have a more moist cake. It was for my boyfriend's birthday (and he is VERY into his taste buds and critiquing everything his tongue touches) so it was a very good sign that he enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very dry. Lacking flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aghavni30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
used previous suggestions - more cocoa, oil instead of shortening, used a cream cheese frosting (even if it isn't traditional, people love cream cheese frosting) - and this turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made the recommended alterations from the original recipe, batter was a little thick and cake was a little heavy, but delicious. Used only an ounce of food coloring, (about 2.5 T Spoons) and the color was beautiful. Also I used the coco powder to grease and dust the pans. Cake needs to be lighter and fluffier, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used the most helpful tips, and WOW, wonderful cake! I've heard many people have trouble with the moistness, I removed my cake from oven 3 min. early (27 min) and it was perfect! I also substituted 1/2 C olive oil and 1/2 C vegetable oil. Was GREAT. I would add 4 T cocoa if you want a more chocolatey flavor, 3 wasn't quite enough. So, good, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The reason I gave only 4 stars is because the cake was pretty dry. It tasted great and the frosting was great. If it were a little more moist it would be perfect. I plan to make it again with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States