Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a hit! Made the suggested adjustments and it was moist, the frosting was delicious! Topped with the strawberries was real yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was easy and fantastic. My father is very picky about red velvet and he loved this one, I will definitely use it again. The cake came out moist and a great shade of red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I love to bake and have been baking for many years, since I'm 62, I was disappointed in cake, the cake was very dry!!!! I baked for family Christmas, will not bake again.I made suggested changes by other viewers to be sure cake would be moist, but no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this cake on Christmas eve, and it didn't turn out as expected. It didn't rise, so I made red velvet brownies out of it instead. It was very rich to me, but my guests ate it all. I only gave it three stars because of all the adjustments you had to make. The fact that it didn't rise was purely my own fault, because I mixed it to long because it was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
As per other reviews, I increased the cocoa powder to 4 T and only used 1 oz of food coloring. Cake turned out nice and moist but I will add more cocoa next time because I think it was missing the chocolaty flavor. The icing was wonderful. I beat the butter/sugar for 15 mins before adding the flour/milk. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is the exact recipe I have been making for years. Perfect the way it is...no modifications needed. It just may take a little practice. And, I agree, this IS the correct icing for RV cake. A little time consuming, but well worth it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Followed recipe with rec changes and cake was ok, a bit stodgy for my liking and not as tasty as my usual choc cake recipe. Frosting is good though, super smooth, tastes kinds like custard. The first time i made it i iced some sticky toffee cupcakes, its goot coz its not as sweet as butter cream but it doesnt pipe smooth in the same way as proper buttercream. The second time i made it (when i made the red velvet cake) i added 150g melted white choc...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackburn, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ream
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Turned out too dark,, not the red i was expecting, though i used the whole red coloring bottle! it was a bit dry, but i used lots of icing and it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The cake was FANTASTIC. The icing was awful, it separated and I tried my absolute best to fix it after but I ended up having to make a cream cheese icing because this was so thin and wouldn't thicken. The cake was moist and delicious and got rave reviews. So overall good recipe just nix the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosepine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made all of the suggested changes but without thinking I used non-fat milk in the icing. Not a good thing, it never thickened and it resulted in a runny mess. Sooo, I made the icing a second time using what I had on hand, a can of evaporated milk. What a difference. This icing is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States