Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used the advice of another review and perhaps i might add a half cup of mayo next time for the moisteness. I made my own cream cheese and my 90 year grand mother and my husband loved every bit of it... even the crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I liked the outcome although it was my first time with a Red velvet; my in laws don't prefer much sweetness, therefore it was ideal for them, and it was moist and dense. I used the cream cheese frosting for frosting, and it added the right amount of sweetness. It's a different flavor altogether, probably because I used mandarine juice to make the sour cream ;) but my family liked it :) And my daughter (5 yr old) loved the colour and the cream cheese frosting!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!! I would have rated it 5star if there was a little more flavor to it; and a tad more of sweetness... probably that's the original flavor, but I'd make it a little sweeter next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was my first attempt on the red velvet, and I shouldn't have tried this for a present on the first try. It is not forgiving at all. I did increase the sugar by 1/2 cup and only put in 1 oz of red food coloring as the reviews suggested, and I used dutch-processed cocoa powder (I knew that the color wouldn't turn out right, but I didn't have the regular kind). The batter had a funny odor before baking (probably due to the vinegar), and while it went away after baking, the result didn't smell much better. The smell, along with the cocoa ribbons all over the cakes, reminded me of cheap dessert-scented candles. Although the recipe says to bake the cakes for 30 minutes, my batch took a little longer, with one of the cakes getting baked at 40 minutes and the other somewhere between 46 and 48. The latter was over-baked as I took it out of the oven at a 50-minute mark and it showed: an inch-thick dry, tough ring. Both of the cakes did have a thin crust on top. I tasted a broken bit of the crust, and the cake was flavourless. Just saccharine. I am now frantically searching for a quick cake recipe as a replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Most fabulous! Can anyone tell me how to make buttermilk at home?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Didn't like the texture or flavour. Maybe that's how it's supposed to be but I actually prefer the box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This cake was awesome!! I didn't change a thing, and everyone loved it! I was a little skeptical about putting the milk and flour mixture into the frosting, but that really made the texture light and fluffy. I forgot to alternate mixing the buttermilk mixture in with the flour, but it came out great anyway. I will surely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe!!! I used cake flour, instead of all-purpose, as I had it on hand and made the equivalent substitutions (1 c. + 1 TBSP. cake flour= 1 c all-purpose). I also substituted sour milk (1c. Milk + 1 TBSP vinegar. Let sit 5 min. til curdled, mix, then measure correct amount of required milk.). Came out perfectly moist and had a nice crumb. I doubled the frosting and had plenty left over. Will definitely add this to the family favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
it was okay.... i wouldn't use this frosting again. I would make cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and suggestions to the tee, the cake was terrible. It was chewy and heavy, very bland flavor, so the modifications others made did nothing to help the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This came out perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States