Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Make sure your oil is at 375! Too low and they'll be oil-soaked! If you follow the instructions exactly, they'll be GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent results from a simple dough. I use lard as the shortening and frying oil. Fry at 375 for good puff and miminal oil absorption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have been living outside of the US for several years and had been missing Mexican food. So I started looking for things I could make myself to satisfy my cravings! I came across this recipe and it is really easy and tastes great to! Even better served warm with honey drizzled inside or served with ice cream....mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Can't go wrong with something hot, fried and covered with powdered sugar and honey! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My first batch wasn't good because I had the oil too hot. The dough burnt within 5 seconds of being in the oil. Once I cooled it down to the right temp, they were great. My son now wants them every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great Recipe! Served with honey butter (honey, butter, and marshmallow creme) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was a good recipe, however only about half of them puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Perfect! They are exactly what I remeber from our family's favorite Mexican resteraunt when I was a kid. I got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I have been looking for. This recipe is also perfect for tortillas, just roll the dough into small balls, roll out thin, and cook on a comal (or skillet). I even used half for sops on one day and refrigerated the rest to make tortillas a couple of days later. As a chicana, these things are everyday food, but my grandmother never wrote a recipe, so I was always guessing amounts. Not anymore! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have a little fryer that only gets to about 350 degrees, but this turned out great. They cook quickly and puff up nicely. I halved the recipe which made 16 triangles. Served with honey butter (equal amounts of honey & butter) and some cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States