Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
i made these this morning for breakfast! I mad the dough last night. wrapped it and stored it in the fridge, rolled the dough these a.m.. i let it set for a few seconds will getting the oil ready and on the stove. this allowed it to rise just a tad and it created the "poof" when frying. if you roll, cut and fry right away, you will have "flat" bread. these were yummy.(I had added a tsp of cinnamon to the dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuga004
Home Town: Whitehouse, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were very good sopapillas. I followed the recipe exactly, and they puffed up when fried and tasted great. However, i strongly recommend rolling your dough very thin and making 100% sure that you oil is at 375 degrees when you start frying! The first batch of sopapillas i made were really doughy and tough because i rolled the dough a 1/4 inch thick. Rolling the dough much thinner (1/8 inch thick) made them puff up and become flaky. Also some of the more negative reviews said that the sopapilla itself was bland. Due to this i added a hint of cinnamon to the dough, but other than that i don't recommend putting anything else in them. Sopapilla dough is not meant to be sweet by itself. If you prefer sweet sopapillas i recommend drizzling a little honey on top of them and then dusting them with cinnamon/sugar. Over all this recipe turned out great for me. I hope my tips are useful :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. They puffs nicely and look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM! Very good and authentic New Mexico sopapillas. Yes, if you go into an authentic Mexican restaurant, especially east of the Mississipi, they will not have these on the menu. They originated in New Mexico, and are mostly found in the southwest...unfortunately for those of us who are transplanted on the east coast! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Two questions: Can I use my deep fryer for this? If I'm out of shortening-can I use butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good! almost like the restaurant ones i loved as a kid. i made a full batch and got kinda bored cooking them since i was using a very small pan i could only cook one at a time so i decided to try bite size ones. while i didnt get sopapillas i got some of the best tasting chips iv had in a while, way better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heraborkenarrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I served these to my extended family durning taco night. Everyone LOVED them. We coated them in both powdered sugar and cinnamon/sugar mixture and both were very good. Wil make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatersmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very good recipe, same as my grandma makes them. But I fry mine in shortening not oil (I know its not good for you, but it tastes delicious!) If you have a problem with having them puff up you need to get your fryer a bit hotter and also if you just push them under the oil a couple of times they puff real nice. I like mine thick so that is the method I use to have them puff nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
this was so not good. i will admit that i didnt use all purpose flour. instea i used whole wheat. yes it was milled so id didn't have husks or anything in it. it still should taste about the same as regular flour would in recipes. not here. they were so bland. i had to keep checking the computer to make sure it didn't say to add sugar or something. the restaurants must add craploads of sugary sauces that you don't notice the blandness. someone wrote that they are used with meats and stuff... totally can see that. but as a dessert?! no way. im making funnel cakes with my leftover oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great recipe easy to make and they puff up so nice, I used warm milk in replacement of the water. Fantastic with honey just like the ones in New Mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States