Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM! Very good and authentic New Mexico sopapillas. Yes, if you go into an authentic Mexican restaurant, especially east of the Mississipi, they will not have these on the menu. They originated in New Mexico, and are mostly found in the southwest...unfortunately for those of us who are transplanted on the east coast! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Two questions: Can I use my deep fryer for this? If I'm out of shortening-can I use butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good! almost like the restaurant ones i loved as a kid. i made a full batch and got kinda bored cooking them since i was using a very small pan i could only cook one at a time so i decided to try bite size ones. while i didnt get sopapillas i got some of the best tasting chips iv had in a while, way better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heraborkenarrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I served these to my extended family durning taco night. Everyone LOVED them. We coated them in both powdered sugar and cinnamon/sugar mixture and both were very good. Wil make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatersmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very good recipe, same as my grandma makes them. But I fry mine in shortening not oil (I know its not good for you, but it tastes delicious!) If you have a problem with having them puff up you need to get your fryer a bit hotter and also if you just push them under the oil a couple of times they puff real nice. I like mine thick so that is the method I use to have them puff nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
this was so not good. i will admit that i didnt use all purpose flour. instea i used whole wheat. yes it was milled so id didn't have husks or anything in it. it still should taste about the same as regular flour would in recipes. not here. they were so bland. i had to keep checking the computer to make sure it didn't say to add sugar or something. the restaurants must add craploads of sugary sauces that you don't notice the blandness. someone wrote that they are used with meats and stuff... totally can see that. but as a dessert?! no way. im making funnel cakes with my leftover oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great recipe easy to make and they puff up so nice, I used warm milk in replacement of the water. Fantastic with honey just like the ones in New Mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These sopapillas were so easy and so tasty! We made them as the dessert for a Mexican-themed meal and our entire extended family loved them. We dusted ours with cinnamon-sugar and let people drizzle honey over theirs as desired. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
SIMPLE AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were so easy, I will definetely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States