Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a really quick and easy recipe. I will most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I've made these in my deep fryer several times with awesome results. They're very tasty with honey and my guests continue to beg for more. The dough keeps well for a few days if wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We use this recipe when we make Mexican. My daughter loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again...this was perfect! We use chocolate drizzle, cinnamon, and honey drizzle; witha scoop of vanilla ice cream! Heaven on Earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These were DELICIOUS! Such a wonderful treat. Everyone devoured them instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe, I haven't made these since home ec in the 9th grade. Tried them on a night I made tacos for the main course. Temperature proved crucial. 375 lets them brown and puff just right. After rolling in cinnamon and sugar, drizzle with honey. Sounds too sweet, but it is just right. And the warmer the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I did not see it mentioned, but the secret to having a puffy hollow sopapilla is to push it under the hot oil or to spoon hot oil over the top. If it is just laying on top of the oil, it will be flat instead of puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We made these for our restaurant's Christmas party and they were a HUGE hit!!! The trick is definitely letting the dough sit awhile. In fact, I made the dough at home and put it in a oiled bowl and it rested quite awhile before we even fried it up, maybe 1 - 1 1/2 hours and it was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe was very good! I added a few of my personal touches to it. I used about a tbsn of cinnamon, and 2 tbsn of organic sugar to the dough :) I also rolled mine in some sugar too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a perfect sopapillas recipe! I have wanted to recreate this dish for years and tried over a year ago on new years and it failed miserably. Since finding this recipe I have made 3 batches and every single drop was snatched immediately. TIPS: If you want puffy then your oil must be at minimum 375 degrees F. Roll them thin and don't undercook. Give them a minute or two on one side and you will notice it rise to the top and puff after that. flip with tongs until lightly golden on each side and discard to a paper towel. I make mine the following way: Fry chips, place on paper towel, dust with powdered sugar/cinnamon/scant pinch of salt(the extra salt boosts all the flavors and helps with all the sweetness of the way I make them). Heat oven to 425F. Place dusted chips in baking dish. Grate mozzarella cheese in a nice layer covering chips. Drizzle a fair (for us, god awful LOL) amount of honey. Bake for 5-7 minutes until cheese melts. OMG just try it! I know cheese might seem weird to some, but it is truly a whole new way to indulge with this recipe. 10 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States