Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
after you let the dough rest for 20 or so minutes, kneed it about 4 times and that will create even more fluffiness. I put chocolate chips in the middle and folded it over and made those for my kids so good, and it does work for tortillas as well just buy a press and there you go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Perfect little pillows puffed up & all! I sprinkled a little sugar in the dough & made them extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a really quick and easy recipe. I will most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I've made these in my deep fryer several times with awesome results. They're very tasty with honey and my guests continue to beg for more. The dough keeps well for a few days if wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We use this recipe when we make Mexican. My daughter loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again...this was perfect! We use chocolate drizzle, cinnamon, and honey drizzle; witha scoop of vanilla ice cream! Heaven on Earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These were DELICIOUS! Such a wonderful treat. Everyone devoured them instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe, I haven't made these since home ec in the 9th grade. Tried them on a night I made tacos for the main course. Temperature proved crucial. 375 lets them brown and puff just right. After rolling in cinnamon and sugar, drizzle with honey. Sounds too sweet, but it is just right. And the warmer the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I did not see it mentioned, but the secret to having a puffy hollow sopapilla is to push it under the hot oil or to spoon hot oil over the top. If it is just laying on top of the oil, it will be flat instead of puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We made these for our restaurant's Christmas party and they were a HUGE hit!!! The trick is definitely letting the dough sit awhile. In fact, I made the dough at home and put it in a oiled bowl and it rested quite awhile before we even fried it up, maybe 1 - 1 1/2 hours and it was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States