Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Muy Bueno! These are exactly like the restaurants serve ! 5 stars indeed... Very very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Was pretty good, oil has to be very hot, for maximum puffiness. I stuffed mine with carne adovada (pork marinated in NM Red Chile sauce, garlic, salt, and oregano, than baked.) Garnished with Shredded Cheese, black olives, a dallop of sour cream, and, lettuce, onion, and tomato. I also like to eat with honey as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Delicious...exactly what I wanted. Had a craving. Found the recipe and tried it. Glad that I did. Other reviewers are right...it is more dense than I thought it would be. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
These are wonderful!! Easy to make and very tasty. My family enjoyed these so much that I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I helped my 16 yr old neice make these for her spanish class. The dough is much like my mexican mother-in-law's flour tortilla recipe. I let the dough set for an hour or so before rolling and cutting. When they were done, we dusted them with cinnamon/sugar. She said they were gone in minutes. Will definitely make these again for home consumption!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe was fantastic, thanks! To those having problems getting a good "puff" out of your sopapillas, here are some tips, all of which are related to keeping your oil at the right temperature: 1. Use adequate oil. You want at least an inch depth of oil to fry in. Contrary to what some believe, more oil in the pot means less oil in your food, because the temperature stays more constant, and the food finishes cooking before it begins sucking up oil. 2. You need an candy/fry thermometer. Don't trust strange voodoo methods like timing the cooking of bread cubes. Don't trust your electric skillet's temperature controller (mine is off by about 75 degrees!) Spend $10 and buy a thermometer. There's no excuse to guess at the temperature when it's so cheap and easy to measure it. 3. Don't overload the oil. When I made these, I was frying no more than 2 sopapillas at a time. Putting food into hot oil is like dropping an ice cube into a warm beverage -- the food is going to cool the oil around it. Putting a lot of food in will dramatically drop your oil temperature. This is especially bad if you're also violating point #1 and not using enough oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Your right these are real sopapillas & very easy to make my family loved them. thanks realy good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These worked very well for me. They puffed up nicely (per instructions on rolling them a little thinner). I haven't perfected them yet, but they were so easy to make I'll definitely keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I too cut the serving size down to 6 and found the recipe to be a great one. I used baking soda instead of baking powder (on accident actually), but it seemed to work just as well. Rolling the dough on a flowered surface helps with the sticky part. My 2 year old son loves it when I cut them in star shapes with a cookie cutter and fill with peanut butter and jelly. My husband stuffs them with beans, meat, and rice. It's a great alternative to tacos (and a little more fancy than our standard hamburger helper meals) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Ok, well it must have been something I did, because of all the great reviews, but mine did not puff up. I tried rolling them thin, rolling them thick, letting them sit, different shapes and nothing would work. Fresh box of baking power so that can't be it. The dough was good with honey, so I'm at least giving it three stars for that, even if it wasn't puffy like a sopapilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States