Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
PLEASE - if you make these, please try them with powdered sugar and a few drops of lemon juice - amazing. If you like them crispy on the outside, then re-heat using a toaster instead of microwave. If they don't puff up, roll the dough out thinner. Make sure you turn often and DON'T overcook. Wonderful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
These were very good. The initial batch I made came out like bread because I did not flat them out well. My next batch I flattened thinner and it come crispy and chewy with a nice air pocket. I cut them into a small square shape and fried them. When you first put them into the preheated oil, they sink to the bottom and then as they are frying they come up to the top of the oil. I suggest that once they hit the top of the oil turn them over, keep turning every 10 seconds or less, I think it gives a nice air pocket. Only fry 2-3 at a time for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe is awesome. Thanks for submitting it!! All my family and friends loved it!! If you want them really puffy try turning them over and over every few seconds when you first put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Muy Bueno! These are exactly like the restaurants serve ! 5 stars indeed... Very very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Was pretty good, oil has to be very hot, for maximum puffiness. I stuffed mine with carne adovada (pork marinated in NM Red Chile sauce, garlic, salt, and oregano, than baked.) Garnished with Shredded Cheese, black olives, a dallop of sour cream, and, lettuce, onion, and tomato. I also like to eat with honey as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Delicious...exactly what I wanted. Had a craving. Found the recipe and tried it. Glad that I did. Other reviewers are right...it is more dense than I thought it would be. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
These are wonderful!! Easy to make and very tasty. My family enjoyed these so much that I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I helped my 16 yr old neice make these for her spanish class. The dough is much like my mexican mother-in-law's flour tortilla recipe. I let the dough set for an hour or so before rolling and cutting. When they were done, we dusted them with cinnamon/sugar. She said they were gone in minutes. Will definitely make these again for home consumption!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe was fantastic, thanks! To those having problems getting a good "puff" out of your sopapillas, here are some tips, all of which are related to keeping your oil at the right temperature: 1. Use adequate oil. You want at least an inch depth of oil to fry in. Contrary to what some believe, more oil in the pot means less oil in your food, because the temperature stays more constant, and the food finishes cooking before it begins sucking up oil. 2. You need an candy/fry thermometer. Don't trust strange voodoo methods like timing the cooking of bread cubes. Don't trust your electric skillet's temperature controller (mine is off by about 75 degrees!) Spend $10 and buy a thermometer. There's no excuse to guess at the temperature when it's so cheap and easy to measure it. 3. Don't overload the oil. When I made these, I was frying no more than 2 sopapillas at a time. Putting food into hot oil is like dropping an ice cube into a warm beverage -- the food is going to cool the oil around it. Putting a lot of food in will dramatically drop your oil temperature. This is especially bad if you're also violating point #1 and not using enough oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Your right these are real sopapillas & very easy to make my family loved them. thanks realy good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States