Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
EXCELLENT. THis was perfect. And I thought the thicker ones popped the biggest, but almost 100%. The dough can rest more than 20 min. In fact the second half set out for more than an hour and still worked perfect! THANK YOU for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I use this all the time to make Navajo Tacos & it works great. A little heavy for just scones I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe and even better as a base recipe. Using the milk makes a great texture. I cut the batch in half w/o a problem but then also mixed in lots of cheddar cheese. They were great cheese sticks. We tried the reciepe with and w/o cheese and both were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These Sopapillas turned out perfectly, did not have to modify the recipe at all. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I served with vanilla ice cream, honey and confectioner's sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuitrago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These were okay...pretty good once you put honey on them, but not as good as I expected. Definitely stick to the tip to roll them out thin if want them to fluff up. I had to roll them VERY thin order to get them to fluff up. Overall I think I'll stick to recipes I've used that use yeast...they fluff up much more than these. This one isn't a keep for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I made this for my Bunco group and it has been a hit ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I was so happy to find this recipe! I have loved sopapillas for years even though I have only had them once or twice. You must drizzle with honey! I bet a chocolate sauce would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I having been looking for a recipe like this for YYEEAARRRSS. I grew up in Colorado where you get this type of Mexican food...not found out here in California too much for some reason. I made these for my family and they LOVED them. I agree with all the previous suggestions of rolling reallll thin, turning frequently in the oil and using either lots of honey after draining or rolling in powdered suger out of the fryer. I will probably 1/2 the recipe next time cause these need to be fresh out of the fryer in the whole families opinion. Also rolled dough out and cut some of the pieces in circles and fried into little bowls for ice cream. Used the "scraps" as regular Sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made these for a dinner I catered and they went over pretty well. Not as well as the fresh beignets I made a different time, though. The dough on these are pretty plain, and definitely needed either a powdered sugar coating or some honey. People in the crowd liked them both ways. Don't get me wrong, I was still munching them down quite a bit! Given a choice though, I'd rather make the beignets because they had a much better flavor. The dough was workable, though, and it fried up pretty well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States