Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These sopapillas were definitely good, I made them for friends who said they were very good. One thing about the recipe though, you definitely need to have the dough much thinner than 1/4". We had them that thick at first and they turned out horribly, but then we flattened them as much as we could and they were much much better. Top with honey and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
verrrrry good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Secor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So good! My mom, aunts, grandmas ... all have always made sopapillas but nobody ever writes down measurements. They just say "You have to just go by the feel of it". That just doesn't work for me. This recipe was perfect. The dough was a beautiful texture -not too dry, not too sticky. After letting the dough rest for 20 minutes I rolled it into balls about 2/3 the size of a tennis ball and kept them covered with plastic wrap as I rolled each one into a 10" circle. I cut each one into quarters. If you want a more crisp sopapilla just roll your dough a little thinner and if you like a softer, thicker sopapilla just roll it a little thicker and lower the heat a little so it has time to cook all the way through. You just have to play around with the thickness and temp to get them the way you want. They are wonderful any way you serve them -with honey, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar, stuffed w/savory filling, plain ... we love em! They're not healthy at all so we try to only consume them on special occasions -like my mom's birthday today!! Happy Birthday Mom! They're a little time consuming and a little messy (anything you fry is) but they are so, so good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
PUFFING YOUR SOPAPILLA: I realize this is somewhat an issue commonly discussed so I shall tell you all what needs to happen in order to puff your sopapillas. When you drop the dough into your oil you should then proceed to spoon oil over the dough. Yes, begin this immediately. Once the sopapilla is puffed be sure to remember and flip it so that it browns evenly on both sides. Don't forget that the dough needs to not be a thick piece, as a sopapilla should be hollow on the inside. This will happen if you use thin pieces of dough. I hope this helps everyone. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recipe Queen
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were GREAT! A lot easier than I ever thought they would be & I will be making these again for sure! Some were puffier than others, but they were all very good! I did one at a time in a large saucepan since I do not have a deep fat fryer. We sprinkled with cinnamon sugar right after pulling from the oil. This one's a keeper - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I must have done something wrong. These came out looking and tasting like a biscuit with honey on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I was born and raised in New Mexico and now live in California and I have asked several friends if they know how to make sopapillas and they have no idea what I'm talking about. I have even asked in mexican restaurants and they have no idea either, one place thought I was talking about bunuelos (they're more of a crispy version of sopapillas.) Thanks to your recipe I can make these at home and my family and friends can all enjoy them! Funny how my friends never heard of sopapillas before, now every time we have a get-together they always ask for them! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Oh WOW! This recipe is excellent. I usually use a mix, and eat the sopapillas with honey, or I stuff them with seasoned beef, refried beans, cheese, and sour cream, but I didn't have any mix, and this recipe looked just as simple. I actually prefer this over the mix! They taste so light and flaky and they puff up like magic. Just make sure to have the oil hot and deep enough. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Brought to husbands work and everyone was raving about them. Also I made 4 batches and had not one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Perfect with cinnamon sugar and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States