Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
these are very good and my church loved them. served them with a simple cinnamon syrup that i made in 5 mins. took some time to fry them all but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS THAT WORK FOR ME EACH TIME: It's very true that to get these to by puffy, you must get the dough as thin as possible. I just make sure the oil is at a temp that if you enter something, it sizzles. Never need a thermometer :) Mine are super puffy if I let one side cook for 2 min, flip ...then another 2 min. They taste exactly like they do at restaurants, and enough of a pocket inside to insert that warm honey. And why stick to squares? I found a star shape cookie cutter & used them. Thought they were cuter. Don't overload your fryer though because you have to leave time to hurry & flip. Also, be sure to wipe off extra oil w/ paper towels!!! Mine didn't taste greasy AT ALL doing it this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
these are pretty good! i found that frying until "golden brown" was a bit too much for us, so only frying until lightly golden is perfect. i was afraid they would be more like a pie crust texture, but they're chewy on the inside, flaky on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Oh my goodness, these were wonderful! If you want them chewy, roll them out a little thicker. I serve mine with honey butter sauce and they taste ALMOST like Don Pablos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These sopapillas were definitely good, I made them for friends who said they were very good. One thing about the recipe though, you definitely need to have the dough much thinner than 1/4". We had them that thick at first and they turned out horribly, but then we flattened them as much as we could and they were much much better. Top with honey and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
verrrrry good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Secor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So good! My mom, aunts, grandmas ... all have always made sopapillas but nobody ever writes down measurements. They just say "You have to just go by the feel of it". That just doesn't work for me. This recipe was perfect. The dough was a beautiful texture -not too dry, not too sticky. After letting the dough rest for 20 minutes I rolled it into balls about 2/3 the size of a tennis ball and kept them covered with plastic wrap as I rolled each one into a 10" circle. I cut each one into quarters. If you want a more crisp sopapilla just roll your dough a little thinner and if you like a softer, thicker sopapilla just roll it a little thicker and lower the heat a little so it has time to cook all the way through. You just have to play around with the thickness and temp to get them the way you want. They are wonderful any way you serve them -with honey, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar, stuffed w/savory filling, plain ... we love em! They're not healthy at all so we try to only consume them on special occasions -like my mom's birthday today!! Happy Birthday Mom! They're a little time consuming and a little messy (anything you fry is) but they are so, so good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
PUFFING YOUR SOPAPILLA: I realize this is somewhat an issue commonly discussed so I shall tell you all what needs to happen in order to puff your sopapillas. When you drop the dough into your oil you should then proceed to spoon oil over the dough. Yes, begin this immediately. Once the sopapilla is puffed be sure to remember and flip it so that it browns evenly on both sides. Don't forget that the dough needs to not be a thick piece, as a sopapilla should be hollow on the inside. This will happen if you use thin pieces of dough. I hope this helps everyone. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recipe Queen
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were GREAT! A lot easier than I ever thought they would be & I will be making these again for sure! Some were puffier than others, but they were all very good! I did one at a time in a large saucepan since I do not have a deep fat fryer. We sprinkled with cinnamon sugar right after pulling from the oil. This one's a keeper - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States