Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
When hot I dipped sopapillas in a cinnamon sugar mixture, and served hot with vanilla bean ice cream, fresh berries, a drizzle of caramel sauce and whipped cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
wow!! I made these and there was not one left...... they really taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
They were awesome very good for desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Best recipe i have found. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Casias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this recipe to go with chicken enchiladas and black bean salsa. It worked beautifully. The recipe is easy to follow, and the sopapillas came out crispy and delicious. Will try cinnamon and sugar or honey next time. I agree with another reviewer, that at least one inch of oil is needed to give them that puffiness. I used a saucepan on the stove since I don't have a deep fryer, and they popped perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these tonight. I'm SO tired because I only cooked them 2 at a time and the recipe made like a billion, but I had to take the time to say how wonderful these are! I had never even heard of sopapillas before today, but I will make these many, many times more. I followed the recipe exactly, but used like 1" of oil because its all I had. I also didn't have a thermometer, so I winged the actual temperature of the oil. When they were done, I coated half in confectioner's sugar, and half in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon. I buy donuts all the time for like $4 for a box of 9. This recipe made literally like 60 sopapillas and probably cost just over a dollar. I never thought that so much wonderful could come from a little all-purpose flour and some water. Thank you so much whoever submitted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Really, really, really loved this recipe. A little advice, don't add the water all at once, because you might not even need all of it. And I found it better to mix it with my hand rather than a spoon, and I divided pieces into small balls and rolled them out into big, thin circles, found it easier than cutting. But it was a really good recipe. Would definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I liked the taste of the sopapillas but I didn't like how they were not as soft.maybe I rolled them too thin???willanother problem I ran into my dough was too watery. I had to add a little more flour. def try again everyone still enjoyed them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quin C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just made these for my son's Arizona State Fair project. This was my first time deep frying and it wasn't as difficult as I'd thought. I only had 12 oz of organic high-heat safflower oil so I used organic coconut oil (so much healthier) for the balance. The sopapillas were so light and such a pretty gold! (Didn't taste the coconut at all.) I spent about 30 minutes trying to get the temperature close to 375. I bought a candy thermometer and this was the first time I used it. It only goes up to 400 degrees, but at one point, the oil was far hotter than that! Once I was able to control and moderate the heat, the frying was a breeze. I had a nice rhythm going with the new dough going in and the golden, crispy dough going out. I didn't flour the board enough so when I spatulaed the dough off the board, it accordioned and I had to flour my fingers and stretch it back out. I quickly learned a few things (as long as you're not as concerned with looks or pockets): It definitely doesn't have to be a perfect square--or a square at all. There is a lot of leeway (though you can't really walk away from the oil) between light golden and dark golden--they all tasted good. If you can successfully lay the square on top of the oil, you get a nice bubble. Pockets seem hard to come by, but again, this was my first time out. You can make these as 2" shapes and get many more out of them. I started off big then experimented with small and ended up with about 80! An easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Perfect dough for sopapillas - to get them to puff up so that you have a hollow center for honey or agave roll the dough or to 1/8"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States