Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Can't go wrong with something hot, fried and covered with powdered sugar and honey! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My first batch wasn't good because I had the oil too hot. The dough burnt within 5 seconds of being in the oil. Once I cooled it down to the right temp, they were great. My son now wants them every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great Recipe! Served with honey butter (honey, butter, and marshmallow creme) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was a good recipe, however only about half of them puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Perfect! They are exactly what I remeber from our family's favorite Mexican resteraunt when I was a kid. I got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I have been looking for. This recipe is also perfect for tortillas, just roll the dough into small balls, roll out thin, and cook on a comal (or skillet). I even used half for sops on one day and refrigerated the rest to make tortillas a couple of days later. As a chicana, these things are everyday food, but my grandmother never wrote a recipe, so I was always guessing amounts. Not anymore! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have a little fryer that only gets to about 350 degrees, but this turned out great. They cook quickly and puff up nicely. I halved the recipe which made 16 triangles. Served with honey butter (equal amounts of honey & butter) and some cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
really good and super easy to make... mine puffed great.. thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe and i was awesome. The sopaillas tasete just wonderfull. My husband and i enjoyed them with our enchillada dinner and of course with honey. They puffed up wonderfully just lke at the resturants. This is the best recipie for sopapillas ever!!! I live in NM where sopapillas are served with everydish and these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This worked out wonderful for my husband and I. I halved the recipe, and the only change I made was adding 2 teaspoons of white sugar. Even though it was halved, I actually only ended up using half the dough and the other half is in my fridge. Hopefully it'll work out just fine when I make them again with the refridgerated dough. This was a perfect end to our Cinco de Mayo celebration. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States