Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My first batch wasn't good because I had the oil too hot. The dough burnt within 5 seconds of being in the oil. Once I cooled it down to the right temp, they were great. My son now wants them every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great Recipe! Served with honey butter (honey, butter, and marshmallow creme) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was a good recipe, however only about half of them puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Perfect! They are exactly what I remeber from our family's favorite Mexican resteraunt when I was a kid. I got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I have been looking for. This recipe is also perfect for tortillas, just roll the dough into small balls, roll out thin, and cook on a comal (or skillet). I even used half for sops on one day and refrigerated the rest to make tortillas a couple of days later. As a chicana, these things are everyday food, but my grandmother never wrote a recipe, so I was always guessing amounts. Not anymore! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have a little fryer that only gets to about 350 degrees, but this turned out great. They cook quickly and puff up nicely. I halved the recipe which made 16 triangles. Served with honey butter (equal amounts of honey & butter) and some cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
really good and super easy to make... mine puffed great.. thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe and i was awesome. The sopaillas tasete just wonderfull. My husband and i enjoyed them with our enchillada dinner and of course with honey. They puffed up wonderfully just lke at the resturants. This is the best recipie for sopapillas ever!!! I live in NM where sopapillas are served with everydish and these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This worked out wonderful for my husband and I. I halved the recipe, and the only change I made was adding 2 teaspoons of white sugar. Even though it was halved, I actually only ended up using half the dough and the other half is in my fridge. Hopefully it'll work out just fine when I make them again with the refridgerated dough. This was a perfect end to our Cinco de Mayo celebration. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe was simple and delicious! Making sure that the oil was the right temperature and turning the sopapillas continuously beginning immediately after dropping them into the oil ensured that they puffed up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States