Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wow! These are the best ever! So quick and easy. Only thing to be careful of is keeping the oil hot enough...if the temp goes too low, they don't puff! SSOO delicious with honey, cinnamon, and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Pretty Good Stuff. I added a cinnamon sugar to the top of the sopapillas when they came out of the fryer which the kids absolutely loved. Top it with honey and they were gone before I even got to serve them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is wonderful!! Light and tender... crispy and easy to cook all the way through. I worked in a Mexican restaurant for a bit and we used to take the balls of fresh tortilla dough and just lightly spread/pull them to the right thickness & round shape in front of the fryer. Instead of rolling & messing up my counter, I let the dough rest 20 min.... rolled it into 2" balls & then let them rest about 10 min. & pulled them like I used to. They turned out better than the restaurant's! The last few had an extra 15 min rest and they were even better. This will be my only sopapilla recipe & I'm using it for fresh tortillas too! Thank you for the recipe!! **UPDATE** I stuck several leftover balls of dough in the freezer..just to see what happens. A few days later... HOLY COW! They rose as they defrosted, and, when fried they were soo puffy that they were almost round & completely hollow. I noticed a little bit of a crust on the raw dough just from air contact, but it was completely undetectable after fried. How dangerous can it get with amazing sopapillas just minutes away with virtually no prep??? Thanks again.....I think :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
perfect! very pleased with this recipe. makes alot! I ate way too many...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We are from New Mexico and these were just like my favorite places to eat when I go home!! Perfectly puffy, LOVE them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I loved this recipe! we had some stuffed with taco fixin's and some rolled in cinnamon sugar and stuffed w/ice cream. The advice to let it rest is crucial. I rushed the second batch and did not let it rest after rolling and those did not puff up as well as the first batch that I let rest for about 3 minutes after I rolled it out. Otherwise, the best thing ever! My kids asked that these be on the menu every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Make sure your oil is at 375! Too low and they'll be oil-soaked! If you follow the instructions exactly, they'll be GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent results from a simple dough. I use lard as the shortening and frying oil. Fry at 375 for good puff and miminal oil absorption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have been living outside of the US for several years and had been missing Mexican food. So I started looking for things I could make myself to satisfy my cravings! I came across this recipe and it is really easy and tastes great to! Even better served warm with honey drizzled inside or served with ice cream....mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Can't go wrong with something hot, fried and covered with powdered sugar and honey! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States