Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have been trying to find the perfect sopapilla recipe for years -- as a kid we'd get them at the Armadillo in Ft Collins, CO but I've never had them as good since...this recipe, as is, is perfect! Soft, slightly doughy -- not like the hard crunchy you get in most Mexican restaurants! Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I'm Hispanic, and this is a regular dessert at my house. One thing I learned from my my mother was not to roll out the whole dough. Make small meatball size portions and roll out one at the time. They come out thin, puffy, and very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whats4dinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I've made sopapillas for many years. I used to just make them with tortilla mix. I wasn't sure how to make up the mix on my own. This recipe was perfect and my sopapillas puffed up beautifully. The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Reminds me of being back home in AZ! Tasted great! I even made some using cookie cutters for the kids and they came out puffy and held shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Seriously ... it's this easy?? Why did I not know this years ago?? Followed recipe exactly. They puffed up and everything. Just make sure the oil is 375 as the recipe says. Thanks so much for this recipe. You've made myself and my family very, very happy :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Wow! These are so delicious! I almost don't want to share them with my husband! Took them right out of the fryer and into the cinnamon sugar and...just...wow. These are...heavenly! Flaky, doughy, puffy heaven. I had them at a Mexican restaurant Friday night and had to have them again...and this recipe is perfect! Thank you so much for posting it!! And they're so easy. It's dangerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lime2828
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Pretty yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Excellent, I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Much puffier than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cgtreasures
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe!! We used halloween cookie cutters and the dough puffed making 3-D shapes. They turned out so cute. The pumkins were the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgtreasures

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Just like I remember it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States