Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These came out perfectly! I followed the directions exactly. As one of the previous reviews noted, I rolled out the dough a little thicker and left the rolled out dough to rest as long as I could and it puffed up beautifully! Just with some sprinkled cinnamon and honey drizzled on was very good. I did make some very thin ones first with cinnamon and sugar and they tasted just like mexican buñuelos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
YUM! I have never eaten a sopapilla before nor have I ever seen one. Making these was an adventure into new territory. All I can say is, when I dropped the little dough squares into the oil, I was amazed at the little pillows of puffiness. I knew I did something right. How amazing these would be cut into little hearts and covered with tinted sugar. I coated these with a mix of sugar and cinnamon and they were yummy. Thank you Leaz for sharing your recipe and allowing me to have another first adventure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
The batter came out entirely too gooey. I had to add about 1 cup more flour to make it workable. They puffed nicely. This recipe is close to my original but I will keep searching (I lost my recipe) This is definitely a good starting point and it made A LOT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These were delicious! They taste just like my grandma used to make them. Thanks for sharing this authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
i made these this morning for breakfast! I mad the dough last night. wrapped it and stored it in the fridge, rolled the dough these a.m.. i let it set for a few seconds will getting the oil ready and on the stove. this allowed it to rise just a tad and it created the "poof" when frying. if you roll, cut and fry right away, you will have "flat" bread. these were yummy.(I had added a tsp of cinnamon to the dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuga004
Home Town: Whitehouse, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were very good sopapillas. I followed the recipe exactly, and they puffed up when fried and tasted great. However, i strongly recommend rolling your dough very thin and making 100% sure that you oil is at 375 degrees when you start frying! The first batch of sopapillas i made were really doughy and tough because i rolled the dough a 1/4 inch thick. Rolling the dough much thinner (1/8 inch thick) made them puff up and become flaky. Also some of the more negative reviews said that the sopapilla itself was bland. Due to this i added a hint of cinnamon to the dough, but other than that i don't recommend putting anything else in them. Sopapilla dough is not meant to be sweet by itself. If you prefer sweet sopapillas i recommend drizzling a little honey on top of them and then dusting them with cinnamon/sugar. Over all this recipe turned out great for me. I hope my tips are useful :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. They puffs nicely and look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM! Very good and authentic New Mexico sopapillas. Yes, if you go into an authentic Mexican restaurant, especially east of the Mississipi, they will not have these on the menu. They originated in New Mexico, and are mostly found in the southwest...unfortunately for those of us who are transplanted on the east coast! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Two questions: Can I use my deep fryer for this? If I'm out of shortening-can I use butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good! almost like the restaurant ones i loved as a kid. i made a full batch and got kinda bored cooking them since i was using a very small pan i could only cook one at a time so i decided to try bite size ones. while i didnt get sopapillas i got some of the best tasting chips iv had in a while, way better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States