Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again...this was perfect! We use chocolate drizzle, cinnamon, and honey drizzle; witha scoop of vanilla ice cream! Heaven on Earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These were DELICIOUS! Such a wonderful treat. Everyone devoured them instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Lomerson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe, I haven't made these since home ec in the 9th grade. Tried them on a night I made tacos for the main course. Temperature proved crucial. 375 lets them brown and puff just right. After rolling in cinnamon and sugar, drizzle with honey. Sounds too sweet, but it is just right. And the warmer the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I did not see it mentioned, but the secret to having a puffy hollow sopapilla is to push it under the hot oil or to spoon hot oil over the top. If it is just laying on top of the oil, it will be flat instead of puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We made these for our restaurant's Christmas party and they were a HUGE hit!!! The trick is definitely letting the dough sit awhile. In fact, I made the dough at home and put it in a oiled bowl and it rested quite awhile before we even fried it up, maybe 1 - 1 1/2 hours and it was FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe was very good! I added a few of my personal touches to it. I used about a tbsn of cinnamon, and 2 tbsn of organic sugar to the dough :) I also rolled mine in some sugar too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a perfect sopapillas recipe! I have wanted to recreate this dish for years and tried over a year ago on new years and it failed miserably. Since finding this recipe I have made 3 batches and every single drop was snatched immediately. TIPS: If you want puffy then your oil must be at minimum 375 degrees F. Roll them thin and don't undercook. Give them a minute or two on one side and you will notice it rise to the top and puff after that. flip with tongs until lightly golden on each side and discard to a paper towel. I make mine the following way: Fry chips, place on paper towel, dust with powdered sugar/cinnamon/scant pinch of salt(the extra salt boosts all the flavors and helps with all the sweetness of the way I make them). Heat oven to 425F. Place dusted chips in baking dish. Grate mozzarella cheese in a nice layer covering chips. Drizzle a fair (for us, god awful LOL) amount of honey. Bake for 5-7 minutes until cheese melts. OMG just try it! I know cheese might seem weird to some, but it is truly a whole new way to indulge with this recipe. 10 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Easy and nice dough to work with. Followed another review and did not roll, but just flattened out with fingers into a round shape. Puffed up nicely in the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diona Thompson
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was very good recipe. We ate ours with homemade refried beans and cheese. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diona Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
These turned out perfect and are super easy to make! I only ate 5 and my husband ate the rest' they didn't even last 24 hours! I covered them in cinnamon and sugar and topped with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States