Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really good the first time trying these. Good recipe. works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Oh my they where so good and easy to make. Not good thing i might make them to much lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Love. Puffy, soft and perfect. Just like the ones I grew up eating. First day we eat them with honey until we can eat no more. The next we have stuffed sopapillas. Just stuff with meat and cheese. Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Excellent. And so easy. I was nervous making these for the first time at 9 o'clock at night for a Mexican themed luncheon the next day. I followed the recipe exactly except adding salt, only b/c I didn't have any, but I would add it if I did. After resting for 20 minutes, I followed someone else's suggestion to roll out balls of the dough. So I divided my dough into 8 balls and cut into 8 triangles each w/ a pizza roller cutter. Made 64! I brushed melted butter on and rewarmed in the oven at 400 for 6 minutes for the luncheon. I topped half w/ cinnamon/sugar and honey/chocolate sauce and served w/ ice cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made these, following the recipe exactly with the exception of swapping half the AP flour for WW flour, which I normally do, and they came out pretty dense with little rise. I made some the other night, following a different recipe that did not have shortening in it, and those had rise, but were still a bit denser than I would prefer, which I attributed to the WW flour, which is why I chose to try this one. I think I'll go back to the other recipe and try it w/out the WW flour and see if that makes them more tender so I know that that was why. I may try this one again, with straight AP flour, but only after I've done the other one first, as I had better success with it (btw, the other one was an Indian Frybread recipe that I found on AllRecipes.com, basically the same thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
after you let the dough rest for 20 or so minutes, kneed it about 4 times and that will create even more fluffiness. I put chocolate chips in the middle and folded it over and made those for my kids so good, and it does work for tortillas as well just buy a press and there you go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Perfect little pillows puffed up & all! I sprinkled a little sugar in the dough & made them extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a really quick and easy recipe. I will most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I've made these in my deep fryer several times with awesome results. They're very tasty with honey and my guests continue to beg for more. The dough keeps well for a few days if wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We use this recipe when we make Mexican. My daughter loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States