Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I was so happy to find this recipe! I have loved sopapillas for years even though I have only had them once or twice. You must drizzle with honey! I bet a chocolate sauce would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I having been looking for a recipe like this for YYEEAARRRSS. I grew up in Colorado where you get this type of Mexican food...not found out here in California too much for some reason. I made these for my family and they LOVED them. I agree with all the previous suggestions of rolling reallll thin, turning frequently in the oil and using either lots of honey after draining or rolling in powdered suger out of the fryer. I will probably 1/2 the recipe next time cause these need to be fresh out of the fryer in the whole families opinion. Also rolled dough out and cut some of the pieces in circles and fried into little bowls for ice cream. Used the "scraps" as regular Sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made these for a dinner I catered and they went over pretty well. Not as well as the fresh beignets I made a different time, though. The dough on these are pretty plain, and definitely needed either a powdered sugar coating or some honey. People in the crowd liked them both ways. Don't get me wrong, I was still munching them down quite a bit! Given a choice though, I'd rather make the beignets because they had a much better flavor. The dough was workable, though, and it fried up pretty well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Worth all 5 stars!! I had sopapillas years ago when my grandma took me out to eat at a Mexican restaraunt and I loved them, but have not had them since. I made a mexican dish tonight for dinner and decided to try these - they were awesome and easy! I added about 1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg to the flour mixture. I dusted the finished sopapillas lightly with powdered sugar and served them with honey. My kids LOVED them! I will definitely be making this recipe again. THANKS for sharing :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
PLEASE - if you make these, please try them with powdered sugar and a few drops of lemon juice - amazing. If you like them crispy on the outside, then re-heat using a toaster instead of microwave. If they don't puff up, roll the dough out thinner. Make sure you turn often and DON'T overcook. Wonderful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
These were very good. The initial batch I made came out like bread because I did not flat them out well. My next batch I flattened thinner and it come crispy and chewy with a nice air pocket. I cut them into a small square shape and fried them. When you first put them into the preheated oil, they sink to the bottom and then as they are frying they come up to the top of the oil. I suggest that once they hit the top of the oil turn them over, keep turning every 10 seconds or less, I think it gives a nice air pocket. Only fry 2-3 at a time for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe is awesome. Thanks for submitting it!! All my family and friends loved it!! If you want them really puffy try turning them over and over every few seconds when you first put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Muy Bueno! These are exactly like the restaurants serve ! 5 stars indeed... Very very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Was pretty good, oil has to be very hot, for maximum puffiness. I stuffed mine with carne adovada (pork marinated in NM Red Chile sauce, garlic, salt, and oregano, than baked.) Garnished with Shredded Cheese, black olives, a dallop of sour cream, and, lettuce, onion, and tomato. I also like to eat with honey as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Delicious...exactly what I wanted. Had a craving. Found the recipe and tried it. Glad that I did. Other reviewers are right...it is more dense than I thought it would be. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States