Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Excellent! I made these for my son's Mexican themed kindergarten potluck and they were gone in a flash. I fried them on my stovetop in a pan with oil set on medium heat. Dusted w/powdered sugar & topped w/honey. The house smells great! As for reviews stating they're inauthentic - these are just like the ones you get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
These are soo delicious! I made them this morning for the first time for my daughter's pre-k Cinco de Mayo party and they were pretty easy to make. I doubled the recipe and there was no problem in that either. I used a regular, bigger pot with about an inch of oil in it and had it set at just above medium heat on my stove... I just let the oil heat up for 10 minutes before I added the dough. They fluffed up instantly. Then I filled a plastic baggy with cinnamon and sugar and once the sopapillas cooled down just enough so they wouldn't burn the bag, I put them in the bag, shaked it and they got a good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This recipe is great but it is more of a flatbread rather than a sopapilla. It's good but not light and fluffy like real sopapillas should be. I have a recipe for sopapillas that are light and fluffy that I may share here later. Thanks for this recipe though! I enjoyed it. Delicious. I used it in a savory dish with spicy beef, cheese, sour cream, lettuce and tomato. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
When I searched out this recipe I was trying to duplicate the sopapillas served at a Mexican restaurant chain called Don Pablos. I've had "real" sopapilla's in Mexico and all over the west/southwest and their version is the only kind I like. I guess it's my junk food upbringing, but this dough was a big disappointment for me. It was so bland no amount of powdered sugar, honey, honey butter, vanilla ice cream, or cinnamon (yep, I tried them all) could save it for me. They prepared and cooked just as was promised. I didn't have any problems with puffing etc... They were just so bland I felt like I was eating vanilla ice cream and communion wafers. I realize bland pastries and crusts compliment sweet sauces and filings, but my palette wasn't having it. So if you're like me and you prefer glazed donuts to cake ones, cookie crumb crusts over traditional lard ones, and cool whip over meringue then make a funnel cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I sprinkle the sopapillas with powdered sugar, add a scoop of ice cream and then drizzle with warm, sweet butter sauce ( 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract). Actually drizzle isn't with word for it....I drown the sopapillas in butter sauce...yumm. For my daughters birthday, I made these instead of cake (I cut the sopapillas in to fun shapes like butterflies and flowers). They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
EXCELLENT. THis was perfect. And I thought the thicker ones popped the biggest, but almost 100%. The dough can rest more than 20 min. In fact the second half set out for more than an hour and still worked perfect! THANK YOU for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I use this all the time to make Navajo Tacos & it works great. A little heavy for just scones I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe and even better as a base recipe. Using the milk makes a great texture. I cut the batch in half w/o a problem but then also mixed in lots of cheddar cheese. They were great cheese sticks. We tried the reciepe with and w/o cheese and both were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These Sopapillas turned out perfectly, did not have to modify the recipe at all. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I served with vanilla ice cream, honey and confectioner's sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuitrago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States