Real Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I must have done something wrong. These came out looking and tasting like a biscuit with honey on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I was born and raised in New Mexico and now live in California and I have asked several friends if they know how to make sopapillas and they have no idea what I'm talking about. I have even asked in mexican restaurants and they have no idea either, one place thought I was talking about bunuelos (they're more of a crispy version of sopapillas.) Thanks to your recipe I can make these at home and my family and friends can all enjoy them! Funny how my friends never heard of sopapillas before, now every time we have a get-together they always ask for them! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Oh WOW! This recipe is excellent. I usually use a mix, and eat the sopapillas with honey, or I stuff them with seasoned beef, refried beans, cheese, and sour cream, but I didn't have any mix, and this recipe looked just as simple. I actually prefer this over the mix! They taste so light and flaky and they puff up like magic. Just make sure to have the oil hot and deep enough. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Brought to husbands work and everyone was raving about them. Also I made 4 batches and had not one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Perfect with cinnamon sugar and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was a great recipe everyone loved I made a half batch which was more than enough for 6. The only thing I did differently was add a Tbls. sugar to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were delicious but a little too crisp for my taste. I like them nice and soft. :) Still, they were really good and very simple - the recipe halves wonderfully but still makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made these for a Mexican fiesta dinner party, and they were a HUGE hit! No one could believe I made them from scratch and that they were so easy to make. Thanks for all the tips - keeping the oil hot and the dough thin is certainly the key to a good "puff". Serving with honey drizzled over the top is absolutely essential (I could see how they might be bland without it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
They didn't get very brown like I thought they would. However, they did puff (yeah!), and the flavor was very good. I did not use a deep fryer...I put about 2inches of oil in a deep cast iron skillet instead, on medium heat. That could account for them not being brown. Very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My family loved this recipe! It was very easy to do. I used a stand mixer and a dough hook and mixed it until I had a nice soft dough. I separated the dough into little balls. Then I rolled each ball out really thin before frying in a large deep stainless steel electric skillet set to 360-65 degrees. They puffed beautifully. We smothered the tops in honey butter and ate them warm. Yum! It made a lot. Next time I'll save half the dough in the refrigerator for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States